DEV Community

Arcturus Gonzalez
Arcturus Gonzalez

Posted on

Tips to getting your SAP Certification

On this pandemic period I decided to update my knowledge in SAP studying Hana. I am lucky to work from home and I am taking advantage of the 2 hours spending in the commuting to work to sleep and study Hana.

Recently I passed in 2 SAP exams first on exam S4 HANA TS4FI Financial Accounting Associates 1909 and second to the exam S4 HANA TS4FI Managing Associates 1909

I did that in span of 75 days and I'd like to share my path on how I did it.

GET THE BOOK

Go to one of the best resource of materials that we have today >>> SAP PRESS

And as you probably already know by my certificates the module of my heart in SAP is Finance (with a bit of Controlling §:-D) and for us we are lucky enough to have not only 1 but 2 books dedicated to certification called SAP S/4HANA Financial Accounting Certification Guid by Stefanos Pougkas and SAP S/4HANA Management Accounting Certification Guide by Theresa Marquis and Marjorie Wright 

But it is important to know that not only Finance has its books but now there are more titles dedicated to certification like for Fiori, Hana, Activate and others. So go to the SAP Press and find yours.

Talking about the books, it is a great source of information and goes through the exam topic one by one covering everything we need to know to understand the exam, how each topic weight in as percentage and what SAP wants us to know to be a certified professional. At the end of each chapter there are questions/answers which simulate the exam.

TIP: On the book there is a warning that the questions and answers will not be in the exam, they are only examples so study very thoroughly and create your own questions and answers using the book's content. This exercise will be very helpful to keep all the knowledge in your mind.

TRY A CERTIFICATION EXAM QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS WEBSITE

I hope this is not a taboo subject to talk about in the SAP world. It exist and it is out there to anyone willing to try.

In the past I have tried a free service in the website where users can create your own quizzes and after that it is available for anyone for free. But as far you go deep in your studies and know more and more about the subject of your exam you can start to find out some errors and start to doubt if that questions/answers are correct or not. And if you get in that point things start to get tricky because you need the best question/answer to challenge your knowledge and I found some questions there were wrong according with official material by SAP. With that doubt in my mind I just lost the confidence in those questions/answers and definitely I gave up on that site and be stick with my SAP manuals. That experience was in 2011 when I got my first certification.

Now in 2020 I decided to give another shot on those websites and start to looking in the web something that could help me to get my certification on Hana and then I found a website that provide that service and for that one I had to pay. I decided to give a try and what I can say that this one surprised me in a positive way. After you pay the fee you have 60 days access and it is possible to be challenged in the same way as the official exam will challenge you: 80 questions in 3 hours. Another possibility is to take the exams with 40 questions with an hour and half for fast practice. All the exams that you took are there for consultation. For me was a win-win game where I was challenging myself in another way with the knowledge acquired with the books and with the questions come in a very and good complementary way. In the end I did improve my skills, my speed and my confidence to take the exam.

And even there in a curated and paid service on the web I can tell you I have found 2 questions incorrect but was better than the free service.

And about you? Did you take the exam recently? Did you schedule your exam in the SAP Certification Hub? Please share your tips in the comments.

Top comments (0)