DEV Community

Cover image for How my comment led to a new startup
Arian Adeli
Arian Adeli

Posted on

How my comment led to a new startup

This one's for fellow indie hackers who don't engage or are hesitant to build in public. Let me tell you a short story.

A while back, Feedboard launched on Product Hunt by Fabio Monzani.

I hardly ever used to engage on Product Hunt. Even if I loved the product, I never used to upvote it. Oddly enough, I had the idea of launching something similar to Feedboard for months prior, so when I saw it, I had to click.

Not only did I click, I also upvoted, registered and commented the following:

"@ monzanifabio all looks good! It would perhaps be more useful if you could implement a daily/weekly recap of updates to your feed? Or perhaps a snapshot of your feeds at the end of the day or week? The interface is really nice and the features are great but I would find myself a lot more likely checking an email like that than loading up the website. Hope this helps!"

He responded, it was all fine. A few days later, I was having a conversation with someone random on Reddit about getting feedback on one of MY projects. Guess what? It was Fabio!

We exchanged Twitters and ended up hopping on a call. After a bit of discussion, even briefly about an acquisition, we realized that it would align well for us to partner up on Feedboard.

I won't get into the details of our arrangement but we have been doing some exciting things since then, and we are planning to start a few more projects together in the future!

Moral of the story? Leave that comment.

Do you have any similar stories that led to something bigger than you originally expected?

Top comments (0)