DEV Community

Arman Tarkhanian
Arman Tarkhanian

Posted on

2023-12-15: Brushing up on old favorites

This week, my wife was unfortunately sick, but it also gave me some time to stay at my old house and fill out more applications and brush up on some languages/frameworks that I haven't used in a while.

I had quite a few calls/interviews with recruiters and CEOs this week, and I felt strong on all of them, so hopefully something comes of them.

One company is having me do a technical interview next Monday, and I'm only allowed to use Java, so I'm definitely taking the time to refresh that. I always liked Java and I think it's kind of unfortunate that it's slowly dying off.

Either way, to practice, I decided I'd try making a fully functional calorie counting app using JavaFX for the UI.

So far I only have a basic window with the elements of calories and macros on it, along with an "add food" button, but I am still in the process off actually building out the logic. For now I'm just going to mostly copy Cronometer's layout and functionality since I like their interface.

IntelliJ makes it much easier to build an app in Java than I remember. Back in college, I think I just worked on raw .java files and compiled them using the command line, so this is definitely a step up.

Hopefully I can further flesh it out this weekend so that I can complete the technical interview satisfactorily.

Anyway, until next time, cheers.

Edit: I somehow totally forgot that I was doing Fireship.io's courses on JavaScript as another refresher, and I made a little mostly-vanilla JS app (well, it uses Next.js, which I haven't used before, and Node but that's just for middleware and endpoint routing) that uses OpenAI's API to generate images. Here is the repo:

https://github.com/armantark/OpenAI-Image-Generator

Relatively simple, just one endpoint and a couple of UI elements. Nothing crazy.

Top comments (0)