DEV Community

Arman Tarkhanian
Arman Tarkhanian

Posted on

2024-02-02: Rearing for Launch

This week was dedicated to preparing for our launch.

Our CEO and CSO had gone and created a UAT doc full of bugs that should be fixed before we launch, so the offshore team was busy all week fixing the stuff that I'm not specialized in, i.e. the non-LLM stuff.

Otherwise, I did a bunch of research on RAG and persistent memory for the application. As it stands, the bot doesn't remember anything between page reloads, which is definitely not ideal. I'm going to have to work on making that a reality eventually.

I also looked into our ElevenLabs implementation, since it was taking an abnormally long time to generate messages. Even though it was already on a stream, which is what I thought was the culprit, it was being sent back to the frontend as a packet instead of as part of the websocket. So I deferred that to the offshore team again.

That same day I also did some research into prompt injection prevention, and found out there are several libraries for this, so I'm going to do that as well eventually down the line. We really do not want people gaming the system.

The next day, I worked on fixing an issue with the bot not sending a proper message after onboarding was finished. Before, the bot did not understand that it was being thrusted into its "main prompt" after coming out of the onboarding process, so it would think there was some weird hiccup. I managed to fix that by having an entirely different prompt in the system for that based off the original. I also partially parameterized that prompt so there isn't too much repetition. It will lay down the pipes for future refactoring.

The next day, Thursday, I took some time in a meeting to explain the inner intricacies of the LLM app, or at least my understanding of it since a lot of it was spaghetti. I would really like to get time to refactor the whole thing but we are in a time crunch.

After that, I set out to fix up some latter issues with regard to the LLM functionality. The first one was that the "reason" field for the todo list creation kept sticking itself into the todo list for some reason. I didn't get to finish by end of day on Friday, so I'm looking to finish that as soon as possible this week.

Anyway, that's all. Till next week, cheers.

Top comments (0)