DEV Community

Aryan Tiwari
Aryan Tiwari

Posted on

Alien Web Game

Alien Invasion Game: A Submission for the Web Game Challenge

What I Built

I’m excited to share my submission for the Web Game Challenge: the Alien Invasion Game! This is a classic space shooter game where you control a spaceship to fend off invading aliens. Designed with simplicity and fun in mind, it offers engaging gameplay with responsive controls for both desktop and mobile devices.

The game features:

  • Player Movement: Control your spaceship with keyboard arrows or touch controls.
  • Shooting Mechanism: Fire lasers to destroy aliens with a cooldown to prevent rapid firing.
  • Dynamic Aliens: Aliens appear randomly and descend towards the bottom of the screen. The game ends if an alien reaches the bottom.
  • Score Tracking: Keep track of your score as you destroy aliens.
  • Replay Option: Restart the game easily after a game over.
  • Welcome Screen: Instructions on how to play and a start button to begin the game.

Demo

You can play the game live on Netlify. Feel free to check it out and let me know what you think!

The source code for the game is available on GitHub.

Journey

Building this game was an exciting challenge! I utilized plain HTML, CSS, and JavaScript to create a smooth and interactive experience. Throughout the development process, I focused on:

  • Creating responsive controls to accommodate both desktop and mobile users.
  • Implementing game logic for movement, shooting, and alien interactions.
  • Designing a clean user interface with a welcoming start screen.

I learned a lot about game development principles, such as handling user input, managing game state, and implementing collision detection. I’m particularly proud of how I integrated touch controls for mobile devices, making the game accessible across various platforms.

Looking ahead, I plan to enhance the game with more features, such as power-ups and additional levels, to make it even more engaging. I also hope to refine the graphics and add sound effects for a more immersive experience.

Top comments (0)