DEV Community

Asher Wolfstein
Asher Wolfstein

Posted on

I ♥️ Programming

I'm Asher, and I love to program. I've taught myself starting with my TRS-80 Color Computer II 16k when I was 7 using the manuals. When I was 22, I worked as a professional programmer at Output Services in Boulder, Colorado. I later worked as a technology paraprofessional at the elementary I attended. I am now 40 with my own company, Original Pursuits LLC.

I have a lot of personal experience learning and teaching myself languages and technologies. I am creative and don't shy away from strange ideas or projects or try to hammer the errant nail.

I am available to talk about programming, questions, advice, projects, how-to, theory, debugging, and generally getting things to work. Any language, any tech, newbie or experienced, young or old, doesn't matter to me. I may or may not be able to help fully, but I'm always interested.

I am interested in game development, particularly its artistic/writing aspect and how that interacts with the programming.

I head up HowToProgramAnything.com, which I am working to expand. It is meant to be a resource for free programming tutorials and information.

My personal website is wunk.me, and my "bibliography" site is AsherWolfstein.com.

I define myself as a philosophical and entrepreneurial artist-programmer interested in game development, language, technology, music, and culture. I peruse technical textbooks, manga (漫画) / anime, science fiction, cookbooks, role-playing games, self-help, and anything unique or obscure. I play, write, design, and program computer games and study Japanese (日本語). Sometimes I build my own fursuits and go fursuiting in public. Overall, I subscribe to and act out a unique individualism where I never quite belong to any one group.

I am a mostly-gay married male in his forties (but young at heart) living in Fort Collins, Colorado (USA), who happens to be an anthropomorphic wunk from the future. A wunk is a hybrid between a wolf and a skunk. As for the future, let’s say a little accidental time travel has left me with a very forward-looking perspective.

My telegram is: asherwolfstein
My discord is: asherwolfstein
My twitter is: asherwolfstein
My instagram is: asherwolfstein

Let's chat!

Your helpful, friendly wunk,
Asher

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
calinzbaenen profile image
Calin Baenen

This is an amazing first post, Asher!
Welcome to DEV. :)