DEV Community

Ashkan
Ashkan

Posted on

Open Source, a stranger journey even stranger than Covid-19

Being newbie is always a challenge, nevertheless DEV ❤️ Community. But more important, presumably a tiny amount of people was able to imagine the Pandemic's impact through our life at the beginning of 2020, neither I was. But we've learned a submicroscopic is able not only change our daily routine but also bring us back to our cozy home, and without any obstacles we still can conduct our commitments to our beloved jobs. Here we should not forget all who has other responsibilities in our community rather than code. Shopkeeper, Baker, Butchers, Janitor and all other labors in our society. Covid-19 teaches me how to be a human in 21th century. Even better than my beloved author Yuval noah Harari. Let's begin the 3rd decade of 21th century with only and only one vision: We fight for the earth that it be a better place for next generations

About Me

I'm a system engineer employed by Unbelievable Machine from Berlin. Typically I am a SysAdmin who evolved the career as SRE. My main daily tasks is to maintain and trouble shoot out some multi regional cloud native hadoop cluster.

Why Hacktoberfest

Well, Imagine it's pandemic and lock down, and you are supposed to take vacation. Scientifically this should has been taken 2 month ago. I knew hacktoberfest as well as Octoberfest, in both never had I ever attend before. As the matter of fact the hacktoberfest was the luckier one this year, and I assume the funnier too😁.

Contributions

I made at least 6 Pull Requests, all of them merged. And many others that hasn't been merged yet or never will merge. I used the hacktoberfest FAQ as many others and filtered python(as my preference) in the open issued labeled hacktoberfest.

Here are my contributions:

There were many other contributions which has'n been approved as Hacktoberfest and it's totally fine. I want stop here and expose loudly that this the nature of Open-Source and I do appreciate all the maintainers for their hard work and the decisions they have made. Please don't give up and deliver clean and readable code to the nature.

Conclusion

Well, let's be honest. Many of challenges I have resolved within this 6 pull requests were have been already solved, but my listeners are probably people like me who like to contribute but don't know where. Hacktoberfest is a great chance to get know how Open-Source works and it's a very good hands on experience to improve your communication skill as well as conducting real code in real life. Take your time and politely ask for a task, and in case you got sucked, be frankly and raise your hand for help,, but build our (A)mazing, (A)wesome and (A)dmirable community.

Cheers 🍻 and Enjoy ❤️
Your AAA(A)shkan

Top comments (0)