DEV Community

Cover image for Working in Circle City, Day 1: Many Firsts
Ashlee (she/her)
Ashlee (she/her)

Posted on • Updated on

Working in Circle City, Day 1: Many Firsts

My new job is downtown Indianapolis. Today was my first day for a whole list of things!

🚗 Parked in a parking garage all day
🚶🏼‍♀️ Walked 5 minutes to work
🍳 Had breakfast by myself downtown
🛍 Shopped in two stores by myself downtown
🍕 Had lunch at Giordano’s
💻 Thoroughly used a MacBook Pro

I’m sure there’ll be lots of firsts in the coming months. I finally feel like I’m in an environment and community where I can grow. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. They care about your wellbeing. You’re encouraged to learn and educate yourself all the time.

Supporting your team matters. It makes an entire world of difference.


Did you know I have a newsletter? 📬

If you want to get notified when I publish new blog posts or make major project announcements, head over to https://ashleemboyer.com/newsletter.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
k_penguin_sato profile image
K-Sato

An Indiana Supreme Court judge picked the name Indianapolis by sticking the state's name together with the Greek word for "city."

mentalfloss.com/article/70220/22-t...

Collapse
 
kaleigh profile image
kaleigh

Congrats and good luck!! 🙌

Collapse
 
morinoko profile image
Felice Forby

Good luck at your new job! Sounds like a great environment to grow.

Collapse
 
elabftw profile image
eLabFTW

Don't eat on top of your macbook, as a single crumb will mess up your keyboard!

(also, don't use a mac, but that's another story…)

Collapse
 
ashleemboyer profile image
Ashlee (she/her)

I don't use one in my personal time. :)