DEV Community

Cover image for How to Start Teaching?
Ashlee (she/her)
Ashlee (she/her)

Posted on • Updated on

How to Start Teaching?

I'm taking an hours-long final later, so today's post is going to be super simple.

What are your do's & don't's for getting started in teaching? I've enjoyed every opportunity to teach people about code or technology and want to do it more. Right now it's just a broad dream of mine, and it's hard to pare it down to take forward steps.

I'm open to all tips and stories here. Wherever you have taught, whatever age you have taught, I'd love to hear what you want to share.


Did you know I have a newsletter? 📬

If you want to get notified when I publish new blog posts or make major project announcements, head over to https://ashleemboyer.com/newsletter.


Image by Joshua Eckstein on Unsplash.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
rcb profile image
rcb

If you're a student, you could start by leading a study group at your school for one of the subjects you're passionate about. I did that last semester for my C++ class; a lot of students were struggling in that class and I was one of the few who had prior programming experience. For my classmates, it helped them to have someone closer to their experience level who could explain what we were learning in less complex terms. For me, it reinforced what I knew by forcing me to break complex topics down into simple and easy to understand chunks.

Collapse
 
ashleemboyer profile image
Ashlee (she/her) • Edited

Here's a tweet thread that Ali Spittel wrote just this morning!