DEV Community

Cover image for Frontend Internship Interview Experience
Ashutosh Dash
Ashutosh Dash

Posted on

Frontend Internship Interview Experience

Long story short, I applied to XYZ company through Internshala for a frontend developer position.

  • 1st step was to complete a task in which I was asked to make a basic hospital management system. Source code here and live preview here.
  • Although I submitted my project doing half of the work still the HR scheduled an HR Technical Round with their team lead. The following questions were asked and I'll try my best to answer those here.

Q1. Tell me about yourself apart from your skill sets.

Ans: My name is Ashutosh Dash and I'm from Balasore, Odisha. Currently, I'm in my 1st year of MCA at the Odisha University of Technology and Research. My hobbies include books reading and listening to songs. My strength includes my ability to work as part of a team. During hackathons, I always lead my team and out of 5 hackathons my team has secured a position in the top 10 or as a runner up. Also, I have volunteered as a frontend developer for GirlScript Bhubaneswar, where we built a homepage for them.

Q2. What are the advantages of react?

Ans: 1. Reusable Components
2. Easier to write code in JSX.
3. Ability to create SPA(Single Page Application)
4. SEO friendly (I don't why! Please mention in comments if you know)
5. Virtual DOM helps in smooth and faster performance.

Q3. Angular vs React

Ans: 1. Angular is a framework built using Typescript while React is a library built using JSX.
2. Angular is used to create complex projects while React is used to build UI components.
3. The learning curve for Angular is more than React.

Q4. What are the keys in react?

Ans: A key helps in uniquely identifying a list item or giving the elements a stable identity

Q5. Differences between Functional Components and Class Components in React

Ans: I'm not sure about its answered but I guess functional components codes are much shorter to write, more straightforward and have fewer complexities for a larger product.

Q6. What is virtual DOM? How react render virtual dom?

Ans: A virtual DOM is like a virtual representation of actual DOM UI kept in memory and synced with actual DOM UI by ReactDOM. Updating virtual DOM is faster than actual DOM.
React compares the actual DOM with the changes in the virtual one stored in memory. Once it sees which component is updated it then replaces the actual component with the changed one.

Q7. What is Redux?

Ans: Redux is a centralized state container that holds the value of the state.

Q8. What is prop drilling?

Ans: A little long explanation, so linking this video.

Q9. What are states?

Ans: A state is a property storage area belonging to the component. Every time a state is updated, the component is re-rendered.

Q10. What is JWT?

Ans: JSON Web Token(JWT) is used for authentication protocol on the web. It is based on the exchange of JSON files for authentication and authorization.

Thank you for taking your time to read this article. Please let me know if you want me to improve something.
You can connect with me on LinkedIn and Twitter.
Want to discuss an amazing opportunity, you can visit my portfolio if I'm a good fit for you.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
vitalipri profile image
From 0 to 1

Great article.
Enable SEO for React needs using Next.js