DEV Community

EarthMommy
EarthMommy

Posted on

New to a Daunting Field

Eeek! As I look at the course load of an intensive 6 month coding boot camp, I am feeling overwhelmed and already exhausted. How am I going to teach special education fulltime, take night classes 3 days with 9 hours of class time, up to 20 hours of studying, and the most important job of them all: Mom to an 8 year old (and dog mom to a pug and lab)?

My only option is to succeed. I need to be successful in an ever emerging field to earn more money, to show my daughter that you can change careers at anytime in order to be happy, more successful, and more secure, and that women can be successful even in a field that is led mostly by men.

So as a fairly new beginner to this field (my first major in college was computer science learning C++ but that was 20 years ago and only lasted a semester) what are your tips, suggestions, and best advice for an almost 40 year old entering this field of full of youngsters who grew up with coding?

Help!!!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
yourmdsarfaraj profile image
MD Sarfaraj

Coding is all about practice.
If you want to become an app developer, I suggest learning the Dart language, then Flutter. Flutter is booming in the market, and most companies are hiring Flutter developers and paying good salaries.

Flutter is developed by Google, you can make Android and iOS apps from the same codebase.

The following roadmap will help you become a Flutter developer.

You can read my small ebook, you can download it free.

A guide for the developer

After working for more than 3 years in the IT industry, I thought to write my experience in an ebook format that will help upcoming developers to solve their day-to-day life problems, In this ebook, nothing is new. You already know all the things, but I am sure this ebook becomes a reminder for you.

favicon yourmdsarfaraj.gumroad.com

In the end, I would like to say, focus more on programming solving skills and fundamentals, When your fundamentals are clear, you can easily learn new programming languages and frameworks.

Happy Coding :)

Collapse
 
reza_sh profile image
rezahazegh

Learning development needs time, patience and practice. So, firstly, I suggest to take a look at job positions to see if developers make more money than your current carrier or not.

Secondly if you decided to go ahead and become a developer, I suggest to start from front-end development (development of what you see in the browser side of a website).
Because it includes visual parts, easier to learn and a better point to start.
Here are most popular front-end frameworks: React, Angular and Vue

If you have more questions you can reach me out on linkedin.com/in/reza-hazegh/

Collapse
 
astandishperry profile image
EarthMommy

Thanks! This career is definitely more $ and my main motivation for changing into this field.

I love all things art so I may love front end dev but I'm also REALLY good at and love statistics so I've heard that SQL is a similar way of thinking.

With this 6 month, intense course I'll get training in all different aspects and will develop the skills I enjoy from there.

Just starting the course that says "this will be hard" at every corner in the intro phase is...scary.

Thanks for the info :-)