DEV Community

Cover image for Understanding Istio: part 4 – Traffic management (& Canary Release)
Aurélie Vache
Aurélie Vache

Posted on • Updated on

Understanding Istio: part 4 – Traffic management (& Canary Release)

Understanding Cloud technologies, like Kubernetes, can be difficult or time-consuming. In order to spread knowledges about it, I started to create sketchnotes about Kubernetes and know it's time to talk about a perfect companion of Kubernetes, a service mesh, Istio.

We continue our new serie of Sketchnotes about Istio, let's talk about Traffic management & one of deployment architecture: Canary Release.

Alt Text
Alt Text
Alt Text
Alt Text
Alt Text
Alt Text

If you are interested, I published a book with all the sketchnotes on Istio (and new ones!): "Understanding Istio in a visual way".

As usual, if you like theses sketchnotes, you can follow me, and tell me what do you think. I will publish others sketchs shortly :-).

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
mnaseem profile image
Naseem Mohammed

Hi Aurelie--
Interesting way to present the topic.
Question: Do you use weighted routing in your production? Though I played with it; I never had a use case.
I do use Istio mostly for "Dark Release" or "Feature Flag Releases" though. And as the Ingress Controller.

What software do you use for creating the sketchnotes?

Collapse
 
aurelievache profile image
Aurélie Vache

Hi
Thanks 🙂

For the moment we are using weight with only 100%. We are working first of all on a real Continuous Deployment tool like ArgoCD.

Features flags release, dark release and blue green can be good deployment architecture, depending on the context, the needs and the team. I talk about canary release because everybody talk about it, I plan to explain others architecture 🙂.

For sketchnoting I use for the moment Samsung s4 tablet, pencil and Samsung Notes.
It's not the better material but for the moment I use what I have 😊.

Collapse
 
mnaseem profile image
Naseem Mohammed

Interesting that you are able to pull it off with just a pencil. Real talent there.
I think you should publish your series on Slideshare also. It is not so legible the posting here.

Anyway, I look forward to more sketches.

Collapse
 
james245332 profile image
James245332

That's great

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.