DEV Community

Cover image for Appreciation for Community Managers
Matt Morgan for AWS Community Builders

Posted on

Appreciation for Community Managers

I had the privilege of joining the inaugural class of AWS Community Builders back in 2020. I've put a lot into the program in these two years and change, but it's fair to say I've gotten more out. So when @lockhead asked me to help out with an appreciation post for our community management team, I of course said yes! The format that follows is the same as the related posts.

What surprises you most about the community builders program?

I'm impressed with the way the program keeps growing in numbers but somehow maintains the intimacy of a conversation. Just one example of this is the Community Builders slack. There's always something interesting happening there, but it never feels overwhelming or intimidating. Of course Community Builders connect all over social media, in the workplace, at conferences and anywhere else we dare!

What’s your background and your experience with AWS?

It's long and varied :D

I started writing web apps in the late 1990s. I registered my personal AWS account back in 2012 or 2013. I started using AWS heavily in my day job in 2017 and I became a serious hardcore serverless cultist in 2019. Still going strong!

What’s the biggest benefit you see from the program?

Connecting with other builders is a huge benefit. Having worked in a few different companies and having had a peek inside a few more, it's surprising how many of the same problems we're all solving. Taking on challenges is easier with a team and Community Builders are generous of their time to help others in their journeys.

What’s the next swag item that you would like to get?

I know one of the Community Builders had a custom phone case made. This seems like a great idea!

What are you eating for dinner today? Share the recipe!

Heat olive oil in a pan. Get it very hot! Add some green beans and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Toss them vigorously and watch the flames leap. Serve them crisp and hot.

Is there anything else you would like to say about the community builders program in 2022?

This is the best tech community I've been a part of. I'm making lifelong friends, helping others to grow, growing myself, participating in great events, and learning a lot. The program provides me with experiences and activity when I want it and is patient when I get busy with my day job.

I highly recommend applying to be an AWS Community Builder, and if you are not accepted, try again in six months. I know many Community Builders who were accepted on subsequent application. I invite readers to connect with me if you want to know more.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
jasondunn profile image
Jason Dunn [AWS]

Great write-up Matt, thank you for sharing it. ❤️

Merry Christmas! 🎄