DEV Community

Cover image for AWS Community Builders – Christmas and New year 2023
Sri for AWS Community Builders

Posted on

AWS Community Builders – Christmas and New year 2023

What surprises you most about the community builders program?

I always knew that it was an honour to be selected to the Community Builders program, but what really surprised me were the many benefits of being a part of this program such as access to learning resources, support and most importantly, networking and learning from other community builders.

What’s your background and your experience with AWS?

About two years ago, there was a cloud project at work that I really wanted to be a part of, however I didn't have any cloud skills and therefore couldn't be considered for this role. As AWS was a pioneer as a cloud provider, I decided that I wanted to learn as much I could about AWS.

I started my journey with AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner. On completing this certification, I felt encouraged to try my hand at other certifications. I decided to pursue all the Associate certifications and then continue on to the Solution Architect Professional.

Since I have started my journey, I have grown significantly in my AWS skills. I feel very happy that I have been able to mentor people in the community who are just starting out in the cloud and are looking for support, like I was two years ago. On the work front, I made a presentation to my team about how they could get certified. I am also part of the Cloud Champion Network in my company.

What’s the biggest benefit you see from the program?

The biggest benefit is having access to the Slack channel and to builders worldwide.
The best part about having access to other builders is the promptness in replying to questions we post.

What’s the next swag item that you would like to get?

I would love to request an AWS Skill Builder subscription-based access, if possible.

What are you eating for dinner today? Share the recipe!

Kale salad

  • Chop up kale and massage it with some salt, lime and apple cider vinegar.
  • Add some dried cranberries.
  • Slice a green apple and add it to the salad and enjoy! 🥗

Is there anything else you would like to say about the community builders program in 2022?

It is a one of a kind program and I absolutely love being part of this program.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
jasondunn profile image
Jason Dunn [AWS]

Great write-up Sri, thank you for sharing it. ❤️

Merry Christmas! 🎄

Collapse
 
kasukur profile image
Sri

Thank you Jason, Merry Christmas.