DEV Community

Cover image for Community Builders – Christmas Edition
Richard Fan for AWS Community Builders

Posted on

Community Builders – Christmas Edition

What surprises you most about the community builders program?

The diversity of people in the group, in terms of where we come from, what we do, the age range, etc.

And also how we contribute to the community. While most of us write blog posts, some CBs make YouTube videos, make online courses, and even organize events.

What’s your background and your experience with AWS?

I was a Software engineer writing web apps and mobiles apps. I first used AWS for creating backend servers for those apps.

I later found out there are many interesting services in AWS so I decided to learn and explore it. Now I have 7 AWS certificates and through out the journey as a Cloud Engineer and now a Security Engineer, I am always the go-to guy when someone have AWS-related questions.

What’s the biggest benefit you see from the program?

I would say the atmosphere where everyone around you are sharing their expertise.

Inside such environment is always a motivation for me to do my best.

What’s the next swag item that you would like to get?

A mascot figure which we can use when taking photos

(Imagine we're all posting photos in Twitter and Linkedin with the same figure inside. I'm pretty sure people will be curious and ask what's that)

What are you eating for dinner today? Share the recipe!

I confess I'm not a foodie, so there is no secret recipe here.

But one thing I learned is that when you make instant noodle, don't eat with the water you used to cook the noodle. Instead, dump it and pour in another round of fresh boiled water, the taste would be better.

My instant noodle lunch

Is there anything else you would like to say about the community builders program in 2022?

Community Builders makes my re:Invent this year much more interesting and meaningful than I thought. My first time hiking in a desert, my first time being a speaker in AWS event, and most important, meeting so many awesome CBs in-person.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
jasondunn profile image
Jason Dunn [AWS]

Great write-up Richard, thank you for sharing it. ❤️

Merry Christmas! 🎄