DEV Community

Cover image for Operation Ho Ho Ho, or how AWS Community Builders saved the holidays!
lordz-md for AWS Community Builders

Posted on

Operation Ho Ho Ho, or how AWS Community Builders saved the holidays!

What surprises you most about the community builders program?

I love learning new things, but mostly I like socializing with builders around the world and I am very surprised on how builders help each other, doesn't matter if it's a problem with an AWS service or a Vegas hotel not accepting your card when you arrived for re:Invent.

What’s your background and your experience with AWS?

I come from a sysadmin/networking background which I did for about 10 years before finding out about AWS. I enjoy AWS because it gives me the freedom to build things and tear them down fast. I also enjoy sharing knowledge about AWS.

What’s the biggest benefit you see from the program?

This year was my second in person re:Invent, and thanks to the builders I didn't feel lonely in Vegas. I think networking and knowledge sharing is the best benefit of the AWS Community Builders.

What’s the next swag item that you would like to get?

My apartment is full of swag items, so I donated a lot of swag I received this year, except the hoodie and the oversized coffee mug ( which is good also for self-defense and I don't have to justify why I carry a coffee mug in my car :D :D :D ). I even gave my claw won Kindle to a builder that needed it more than me. I would love access to books, maybe an Audible yearly subscription and access to Cloud Academy that can be donated to someone who needs it more.

What are you eating for dinner today? Share the recipe!

Borscht (Beet Soup )

Image description
(Not actual image of my borscht)

According to Wikipedia, Borscht is neither Ukrainian or Russian. It is national Slavic dish that has a history of centuries. Borsch is traditional beet soup cooked in every household of any former republic that belonged to USSR – Ukraine, Russia, Moldova, Belorussia etc. Not to mention all over Eastern Europe

The iconic red beet soup is made with beef ribs, cabbage, potatoes, carrots, garlic and dill, and then served with a dollop of sour cream and rye bread, but I replaced the beef ribs with pork ones. So let's go.

You will need:

  • Red beets
  • Cabbage
  • Potatoes
  • Carrots
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • Dill
  • Beef or Pork ribs

Step 1. Put the ribs in boiling water and let them boil for 30-40 minutes.
Step 2. Add cabbage in broth with bay leaves and peppercorns for 20 minutes after bringing to a boil.
Meanwhile you can chop the rest of the vegetables.
Step 3. Sauté the onion and carrots in a bit of olive oil until translucent, about 5 minutes. This makes onion flavorful making entire borscht recipe more delicious. Do not skip.
Step 4. Add beets and a bit more oil, cook for another 5 minutes.
Step 5. Put the sautéed veggies to the pot along with potatoes, tomato paste and salt. Cook covered for 20 minutes. In the meantime, prep garlic, dill and other seasonings.

Season borscht with white vinegar, garlic, sugar and pepper. Red wine vinegar, apple cider vinegar, white wine vinegar or lemon juice can also be used. Traditional choice is borsch for sour soup - a liquid created with fermented wheat or barley brans, giving the dish a distinctively sour and slightly pungent taste ( can be bought in US and Western Europe at traditional eastern european shops ) but if not the best choice is white vinegar though.

Stir, turn off heat and let borscht soup stand for 10 minutes covered to allow flavors to “marry” each other. Add dill and your borscht is ready to serve.

Is there anything else you would like to say about the community builders program in 2022?

This year was amazing, the CB mixer at re:Invent, the people I met gave me a lot of inspiration for 2023. So I will be launching a local AWS UG in Moldova and will work more on trainings and labs with local students who want to learn more about cloud and AWS.
Thanks to all the AWS CB managers, developer advocates and to all the CB around the world for a wonderful experience. Wish you Happy Holidays! Let's us all have a wonderful 2023!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
jasondunn profile image
Jason Dunn [AWS]

Great write-up, thank you for sharing it. ❤️

Merry Christmas! 🎄