DEV Community

Cover image for We gave a lightning talk at the AWS Summit in Sydney 2024.

We gave a lightning talk at the AWS Summit in Sydney 2024.

Have you heard about AWS Summits? I attended the AWS Summit in Sydney for the second time with my wife, following my attendance at AWS Summit Singapore in 2019.

Image description

This year, @geethikaguruge and I presented a session about "Streamlined Deployment to Amazon EKS with Amazon CodeCatalyst" at AWS Summit Sydney. We are honored to represent AWS Community Aotearoa (New Zealand). Thank you AWS UG Aotearoa. I would like to thank Belinda for giving us this opportunity and also thank Derek for all the support he provided. My wife, Shafwana, provided me with all the support I needed to prepare my talk.

Image description

How did Geethika and I prepare for the event?

We both planned our sessions with slides and demos well. We scheduled them a few days every week after dinner to practice and perfect the presentations. Since it was a lightning talk, we had to keep our speeches concise, with no more than 15 minutes. I want to mention the AWS New Voices program. Before the event, I was chosen to be a coach for the program, which provided me with the chance to enhance my public speaking skills while coaching other members of the community. Additionally, I was able to learn from Meridith Grundei, and I would like to express my gratitude to Mark Pergola for giving me this opportunity.

Day of the AWS Summit Sydney 2024

Geethika and myself presenting at AWS Summit Sydney

Image description

Image description

Image description

Adding more colours to AWS Summit Sydney with @xelfer and Kristine Howard

Image description

If you are interested in printing the AWS icons pattern, you can check it out on my blog by following the link provided: https://dev.to/aws-builders/level-up-your-aws-community-day-creating-custom-gaming-mats-with-aws-architecture-icons-547n

Playing AWS BuildersCard Game

Had an amazing time playing BuildersCard Game while learning about AWS Well-Architected Framework with Shehan Marino Perera at AWS Summit Sydney. Thank you Aileen Lu David Heidt.

Image description

Image description

@zachjonesnoel and I gave away some of our swags

With @xelfer and @ssennettau

Image description

Image description

After attending the summit, I attended the ANZ Community Leaders Meetup

First of all, @shafjag, I would like to thank you for organizing such a great event.

Amazing sessions by Kris Howard, Mike Chambers Scott Friend and Maria Encinar

Image description

Image description

Image description

It's all about community

I am proud to be part of the AWS Community Aotearoa (New Zealand) and grateful for the opportunity.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
indika_wimalasuriya profile image
Indika_Wimalasuriya

Great write-up sharing some nice insights of your journey. Keep it up Zack

Collapse
 
awsfanboy profile image
Arshad Zackeriya 🇳🇿 ☁️

Thank you @indika_wimalasuriya :)