DEV Community

Cover image for Submission for Frontend Challenge v24.07.24
Ayush Shukla
Ayush Shukla

Posted on

Submission for Frontend Challenge v24.07.24

This is a submission for Frontend Challenge v24.07.24, Glam Up My Markup: Recreation

What I Built

I developed a Landing Page for the New York Recreational Cricket League. The website showcases the league's information, schedule and venue.

Demo

Journey

To get ideas for my project, I started to go through different websites but couldn't find something unique. Then I asked ChatGPT to give me a sample layout of a webpage having info about a Cricket League. I liked the layout color and used it in my design. ChatGPT also helped me in many other instances, like setting the scroll-behavior, making the form interactive, etc. I am pretty new in web development, still a student in a college and this is my first time, but I wanted to participate in this challenge.

Challenges Faced
I wanted to embed a map of the area into my project but didn't know how to, so I searched on Google and found it could be done by Google Cloud Console, but it wasn't free of cost so I searched for a free alternative and came across Leaflet, an open-source JavaScript library for interactive maps. I used it in my project to add a map showing the location of Central Park Cricket Fields.

New things learned

  • How we can use AI to make our work quicker and more efficient.

  • A new JavaScript library for embedding interactive maps right into your webpage.

License

This project is under an MIT License. It is free to use, and anyone can use the code.

Conclusion

I learned a lot of new things in this journey and am excited for upcoming challenges. Though it breaks down a little on small devices, I will make it responsive by the end of this challenge.
Thank you #devchallenge team

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
rabeehco profile image
Rabeeh Ebrahim

great work!