DEV Community

Cover image for Start.Dev.Change - An Intro to Mobile Development!
Nitya Narasimhan, Ph.D for Microsoft Azure

Posted on • Updated on

Start.Dev.Change - An Intro to Mobile Development!

QUICK START LINKS:

  1. Microsoft Power Platform Fundamentals

  2. Azure for Mobile Developers

  3. Introduction to Dual Screen Devices

  4. Build dual-screen Xamarin.Forms apps by using TwoPaneView

And don't forget to join me for my intro to mobile development session at 2pm PDT (5pm EDT) and livestreamed on Learn TV


What is Start.Dev.Change?

Start.Dev.Change is a virtual conference that is being organized by my wonderful colleagues in the Azure Advocates team. The goal is simple. Help empower a new generation of developers - particularly beginners and career changers - learn new skills and make new connections to help them grow and succeed in tech.

It's a 2-day event with day 1 focused on breadth (technology awareness) and day 2 focused on depth (actionable learning).

Plus, you have two #cloudskills challenge options that give you a fun way to get hands-on learning around two cloud platforms with vouchers to get free certification at the end!


An Intro to Mobile Development

I'm personally excited for this event because I not only get to be an attendee, but I also get to talk about one of my favorite topics: Mobile Development and how you can get jumpstarted building your first Android app. Here's my recap slide for what I'll cover.

Alt Text

I'll post a link to the slides and video here after the talk is done. Just subscribe to the post to get notified when those are added.

Three reasons why this is a good time to explore mobile:

  1. App usage is growing.
    Stats are showing that in these challenging times, people are increasingly relying on their mobile apps to connect, transact, communicate and create content. You can help users do that better!

  2. Developer demand is high.
    Mobile experiences can be crafted as native apps (for Android or iOS) or as web apps (used on mobile browsers) so you have many options to start from. Knowing the relevant programming languages is key.

  3. Personal & Professional development.
    We intrinsically understand the user's challenges in installing, navigating and using, these experiences because we are that user!. Working with mobile can be personally creative and professionally productive.

What I'll cover today

Join my session if you want to get a quick start to mobile development using Android

In particular, we'll walk through the process of creating your first "Hello World" app using Android Studio - and use the experience to understand the design and development environment (tooling) and the structure and features (fundaments) of creating and running a simple Android app.

And I'll leave you with three directions for continuing your journey:

  • Skill Up = Developer Guides for APIs & best practices
  • Scale Out = Leverage Cloud + AI backends with mobile
  • Surface Duo = Explore dual-screen & multi-posture apps

Look forward to seeing you there!


Android/Kotlin Study Group

Would you be interested in joining a 30-day study group to learn Kotlin and Android before 2020 is done? Or are you running one right now? The focus would be on relative beginners who have some experience coding but are new to the mobile development domain.

Just leave me a note in comments or DM me on Twitter - study groups are a great way to stay accountable and I'd love to continue the conversation beyond today.


Update 1: Presentation Slides

I've added in a link to a PDF version of the slides. The talk had a number of embedded videos - I'll upload those separately to a playlist and then write up a separate post that walks through the simple process of building that demo app. Watch this space

Update 2: Video Recording

Resources for getting started!

If you are attending the conference, don't forget to sign up for the - two focused learning paths that will cover the fundamentals of two key "cloud" options: Azure and Power Platforms.

  1. Microsoft Power Platform Fundamentals
  2. Azure for Mobile Developers
  3. Introduction to Dual Screen Devices
  4. Build dual-screen Xamarin.Forms apps by using TwoPaneView

Hope to see you at Start.Dev.Change 2020!

Alt Text

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
shaijut profile image
Shaiju T • Edited

Nice 😄, 2 questions:

  1. I already have learn profile, so should i register again for both challenges or just login and take the challenge ?
  2. Can I take both challenges and earn 2 free certification exam vouchers ?
Collapse
 
nitya profile image
Nitya Narasimhan, Ph.D

No - use your existing profile and login and take the challenge. It should work. If you have issues let me know. I think you can get both vouchers if you finish both challenges but let me double check and post back here.

Collapse
 
carlarjenkins profile image
Carlarjenkins

Please double check because I am interested in knowing if I can get 1 exam voucher per challenge. That would be great especially since I've finished the Power Platform one and am working my way through the Azure Fundamentals challenge. Thanks.

Collapse
 
shaijut profile image
Shaiju T

@nitya , I need quick help : I registered for the Azure Fundamentals Challenge. Then it asked to start learning using below link, But it doesn't have any Collections to learn.

docs.microsoft.com/en-us/users/msu...

Can you kindly help ?

Collapse
 
carlarjenkins profile image
Carlarjenkins

Thanks for posting this. I have learned about Start.Dev.Change from the #100DaysofCloud Twitter community. I've finished the Power Platforms. It has taught me about the interconnectedness with Azure SQL and PowerBI with Azure Data (I am currently studying for the DP-900 exam). Also what is the timetable for receiving the free exam voucher? Where can we find this information? Thanks.

Collapse
 
nitya profile image
Nitya Narasimhan, Ph.D

Updated with a link the slides. You can also find them directly on my speakerdeck page here: speakerdeck.com/nitya/intro-to-mob...