DEV Community

Binyamin Green
Binyamin Green

Posted on

Starting a Project - What comes first?

When working on a project, I have trouble finishing unless I have defined first what I'm doing. How do you work? Do you jump straight into code? Maybe you talk it out for an hour, or five.

When you start a product, what's the first thing you do?

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
zsumair profile image
Syed Zoheb

Define a set time to spend on planning, coding and shipping. If you don't set deadline and jump directly on planning, you'll spend a lot of time perfecting the planning itself.

Here's how i would sum it up

  • List out core functionalities of your project
  • Set a deadline on planning, coding and shipping
  • work on providing core functionalities rather than perfecting it in MVP
  • Ship as fast as you can
  • iterate
Collapse
 
viniciusfbm profile image
Vinicius Melo

I think one of the best things is to focus on distribution channels, if you don't have any, there is a big chance that you will fail to get adoption.

Founder @ Memocards.net & StackFolio.co

Collapse
 
cristinaruth profile image
Cristina Ruth

I generally plan out features out so I can then prioritize the first feature I work on.

Collapse
 
richjsouth profile image
Rich South

This question reminds me of the Dilbert episode where PHB declares "First comes a name"

Collapse
 
binyamin profile image
Binyamin Green

I've spent a fair amount of time planning my current project, DevMe.