DEV Community

Calin Baenen
Calin Baenen

Posted on

I've got banned from YouTube and Vimeo. - Now what?

So, gamedevs usually need a way to gain traction, especially if they are (or want to be) stand-alone devs.
One of the easiest ways one can achieve this feat is by using a service such as YouTube or Vimeo.

However now, as of today, my Vimeo account got terminated for a harmless three second video, which was a clip of a guy saying "no!" repeatedly, taken from this YouTube video.
And apparently, according to Vimeo:

Reason: We do not permit accounts that upload rips of movies, music, television, viral videos, or any other content that the users did not create.
But I feel like their reason for banning me is unjust.
I would understand if this was to protect against pirated content, but no, this was just a clip I liked because it was funny.

Now what do I do?
There's nowhere I can demo my content, or do anything in the "videographic" world at this point.

Top comments (0)