DEV Community

Cover image for 🚀 Don't cheat in leetcode- become better in it, grind harder 💪
Baglanov Alikhan
Baglanov Alikhan

Posted on

🚀 Don't cheat in leetcode- become better in it, grind harder 💪

A leetcode a day keep unemployment away

Hey, I think all of you, readers, know about leetcode- a platform for for coding interview preparation. There a lot of good problems to solve and interface is amazing. I started solving leetcode problems about a year ago, but was active only for 3-4 month.

The first problem I faced with- I hadn't a clue how to solve problems. I checked other's solutions, learned approaches, but didn't see a progress when solved daily problems, even if they were easy. I just gave up too fast after reading description and instantly opened solutions tab, read other's code, thought that it was so easy and I could solve it by myself too, close it, but still couldn't manage to write it.

Just to have a streak I copy&pasted NeetCode's solutions from video, thinking that from his explanation I will become better and next time I will solve this sort of problem by myself. What is the result? I just gave up on solving leetcode at all, because it become boring.

Now, starting from 10th May I returned to leetcode, created new session where I solve without chat gpt. Not gonna lie, I still watch other's solutions if it is really hard, but only until it requires new approach/algorithm. Otherwise I try to do my best.

So I built myself a chrome extension. It prevents me from accessing chat gpt and solutions tab when I solve problems.

So on each new tab it checks if there leetcode problem opened and chat gpt at the same time. If so, it redirects chat gpt tab to google.com
Code fragment

Similar code for solutions tab on leetcode

Code fragment

I hope it will help me, and maybe you, in grinding and passing interviews

This project is open source so you can check it out. Thank you for reading, happy coding! And also, what can I add there? Any suggestions?

Top comments (0)