DEV Community

ENDEESA
ENDEESA

Posted on

Discussion - Dealing with fake images on social media

In light of recent events happening around the world, I have been thinking about the role of social media in escalation or deescalation of conflicts.

So I had an idea to build a Twitter bot that would return the date metadata of any image possibly including the Software used to make the image.

My hopes were shuttered when I realised that most social media platforms actually remove all metadata from public consumption. This is done for privacy and security reasons which makes sense.

So unfortunately my idea wont work:(
But then given that they(Twitter) still keep this metadata internally, would it not be useful if they released some of the non-personally identifying attributes which can help in reducing the spread of disinformation/misinformation?

Would love to hear your thoughts

Top comments (0)