DEV Community

Cover image for From Mechanical Engineer to Web Developer: My Journey
Bashar V I
Bashar V I

Posted on

From Mechanical Engineer to Web Developer: My Journey

Hi Everyone!

I’m Bashar, a mechanical engineering graduate who transitioned into web development. My journey began as a Design Engineer, where I spent six years creating machine parts and manufacturing drawings. However, the COVID-19 pandemic changed everything. Like many, I lost my job and found myself rethinking my career path.

I’ve always had a passion for coding. Despite opportunities during my school days, I didn’t pursue it then (a decision I now regret). During the pandemic, with ample free time, I decided to dive into programming. I stumbled upon a YouTube channel called Crossroads (now Brototype) and their '100K Coding Challenge' series. This series was a turning point for me. Seeing my first 'Hello World' output filled me with joy and ignited my enthusiasm for learning programming.

As a Design Engineer, I rarely saw the end products of my work, which left me feeling unfulfilled. In contrast, coding allowed me to see immediate results, giving me a sense of ownership and satisfaction. This newfound happiness motivated me to continue my coding journey.

I completed several projects by following YouTube tutorials and an online course on Udemy to learn JavaScript. I started building projects using the MERN Stack and began applying for coding jobs. The transition was challenging, but after a few months of job hunting, I secured my first coding job as a Backend Developer at Skyniche Technologies.

At Skyniche, I worked on various projects, which helped me learn and upskill significantly. This career switch boosted my confidence and courage to pursue more in life. Now, I’m in the vibrant city of Dubai, looking for exciting opportunities while continuously learning new technologies.

I’d love to connect with fellow tech enthusiasts and learn more about growing in the tech field. Feel free to connect with me on LinkedIn and GitHub.

LinkedIn: Bashar V I
GitHub: BasharVI

Thanks for reading!

Cheers,
Bashar

Top comments (0)