DEV Community

Cover image for What I Learnt After Being Disconnected For 10 Days
Palash Bauri 👻
Palash Bauri 👻

Posted on • Updated on

What I Learnt After Being Disconnected For 10 Days

I was that kind of guy who uses lots of internet (Actually Too Much..) but unfortunately my phone's charging port got damaged so I had no way left other than sending it to Service Center. The guy there told me it's gonna take a while.

I knew for these days I'll not be able to use internet so I'll not able to upload any articles.

Actually I use internet on my pc via USB Tethering from my phone , so there was no chance of uploading new contents.

I learnt few things these days.

I was disconnected, left with a old keypad phone. Actually it helped to get rid of overuse of internet and concentrate more on my studies. I started visiting nearby places more often. I started hanging out with my friends with phone calls rather than texting.

I usually spend most of time building. But as the internet was gone i was creating designs of my inventions by hand with pen and pencil.

As my resources was limited , I was kinda lost for first few days but then after things got better.

Inventor Palash Bauri returned, I built some new gadgets. I read more books.

Something inside me was changed. My Inventor self was on front again.

I think , Everybody who uses internet a lot should take a break and enjoy the surroundings. Just Try it once!😉


If You Like My Work (My Articles, Stories, Softwares, Researches and many more) Consider Buying Me A Coffee ☕ 🤗

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
flying_press profile image
flying-press • Edited

Being off of the Internet does have its upsides. We have the choice to disconnect ourselves from the Internet, but that choice does not seem to be taken at will.

I get my Internet connectivity from my phone as well. One summer, I messed with my phone to then get it stuck bootlooping, and the only solution was to download a stock image and install it onto the phone. During the time that I had to wait for my friends to have a get-together at their house where they have Wi-Fi, me and my nephew agreed that it felt pretty nice to be disconnected. We still played video games together, watched TV, and other activities around the house, but we did just fine with no Internet connection.

In that circumstance, it was being off the grid by force rather than by choice. But it was still a good time. I would personally do it again if I weren't so dependent on being online at the moment. ^^;