DEV Community

Cover image for Journey to Freelancing
Clifton Beale
Clifton Beale

Posted on

Journey to Freelancing

Check out my latest website:

Clif Codes

Programming, not just web development, has been a passion of mine since I was a child. I have been coding since my early teen years, however I have shifted my main focus since separating from the U.S. military. My goal has been to become a web developer, which I have done an amazing job at, personally speaking.

I received some advice from a mentor recently that I needed to stand out from the other applicants in my job search in order to get anywhere. I am all for a little bit of competition amongst job applicants, but in the field of web development right now - it's absurd (if you know you know). This is when I felt the need for a shift. I love what I do, however I do not love how competitive the nature of finding a job (doing what I love) has become. I feel that there is an unnecessary anxiety and hopelessness brought about with the overall competitiveness of the job market right now. With that being said, I figured it was time to take matters into my own hands.

After completing several of my own projects, releasing a portfolio, and then creating a large scale, full-stack application ... I was still no closer to finding work than I was before. The difference, however, is that I am now stacked with all of these amazing skills that I have picked up and have been dying to show off. I am so excited to engage with clients, give consults, and be the boss of my own work environment. I have never taken on a challenge like this, and I am excited to see where this road leads me and my work in the future.

New webiste

I created a fresh new landing page for my services as a freelance web developer. Seeing as this is a sort of fresh start for my career, I wanted to start off on a new foot.

I leveraged Tailwind CSS to create my static app which was something new for me.

The app offers an outlet to see my schedule/availability, find my contact links quickly and efficiently, schedule consults with me, and see the core services that I will be offering. I cannot list every possible service that I can perform, as my skills over the years have grown vast in the world of web development - which is why there is the 1-off solution service listed as well.

After months of grueling job searching without any success, I am nervous and excited to be able to take control of my destiny. I believe that I will be successful in this endeavor as I am a self-starter; I have gotten this far into my journey on my own accord and I believe I have done well thus far. Be sure to check out my new website and leave my some anonymous feedback on the contact page :)

Top comments (0)