DEV Community

Cover image for "The Pragmatic Programmer" #1 📚
Benjamin Gaboury
Benjamin Gaboury

Posted on • Updated on

"The Pragmatic Programmer" #1 📚

As a developer, we have a lot of things to learn, which is pretty cool: programming languages, frameworks, database, front-end, back-end, agile methods, team work...
But reading technical books is also very important. During my internship, my colleagues recommended two books to me : "Clean Code" and "The Pragmatic Programmer". I decided to begin with this last one and while I read it, I will note the passages that I find interesting. Obviously the whole book is, but with such a rich book, every reader will find elements that appeal to him more than others.

The authors, Andrew Hunt and Dave Thomas, wrote the first edition twenty years ago. The new one re-examines what it means to be an efficient programmer. Intended for junior as well as senior, "The Pragmatic Programmer" is essential for anyone involved in software development and it seems to have had a profound influence on many developers since its first publication.


"What makes a Pragmatic Programmer?"

With the preface, it starts strong. The first two tips are obvious but clear:

1. Care about your craft
2. Think! about your work

There is also a sentence which is very important:
"Never run on auto-pilot"

We must constantly reflect on what we are doing. If we copy and paste code, we are on auto-pilot. We are relieved it can work but often, we really don't know why it works. If something is unclear, ask your collegues, search on the web and try to understand.

Another point is about individuality and teams. The authors compare software construction with cathedrals during the Middle Ages. All individual craftspeople, like developers, have interpreted the engineering requirments for those gigantic constructions. They put their individualities in something bigger. If techniques become archaic, even ours, "our craftsmanship will still be honored".


I continue to explore this book and I will give my impressions during my reading 👓📚🌠

Top comments (0)