DEV Community

Cover image for I'm joining Mixer šŸ“ŗ
Ben Greenier
Ben Greenier

Posted on

I'm joining Mixer šŸ“ŗ

Hi! Iā€™m Ben Greenier ā€” Iā€™m currently an engineer at Microsoft working to create awesome open source projects with our partners. We get to create software to help solve really tricky problems, and share our stories as we go. This means that as part of my current job I get to play with lots of new technologies, learn how to use them, and help other folks do the same.

However, lately I've been feeling like my aspirations aren't quite aligned with my career - the things that I'm passionate about aren't things I focus on in my day-to-day role. I like being able to create Open Source Software (OSS) but not when I don't have the time to focus on building those OSS projects over time. I'm also finding that specific applications of technology are more exciting to me than others - and while working with customers on lots of different problems can be a great learning experience, It can also be super limiting. I already spend much of my time thinking about Streaming, and how I can help to create tools and platforms to enable broadcasters to be more successful, so...

I'm making some changes - Starting in April I'll be joining Mixer full-time, to work on their video platform team - contributing to things like FTL and the broader ingress and egress services that help make broadcasting quick, easy, and reliable on the platform. This also means I'll be moving from London to Seattle (more on that in a different post, perhaps). I'll be able to keep working at Microsoft - A company I really respect and enjoy working for - but focus on problems and technology that are much more my style. I'm super excited to get started!šŸŽ‰

Thanks for reading - If you'd like to further support me and see similar content, follow me on Mixer and/or Twitter. Curious to learn more about what a role at Mixer entails? Leave a comment below and I'll be sure to do my best to explain or connect you with the right folks.

šŸ’™šŸŒˆ
-Ben

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
bengreenier profile image
Ben Greenier

Accompanying twitter thread with some (less tangible) thoughts: twitter.com/bengreenier/status/123...