DEV Community

Cover image for GitLab 13.12 is now available!ย ๐ŸŒผ
Benjamin Rancourt
Benjamin Rancourt

Posted on • Originally published at benjaminrancourt.ca on

GitLab 13.12 is now available!ย ๐ŸŒผ

This month, although the new release of GitLab contains 44 improvements, only 3 of them caught my attention. They are relatively minor, so this post will be really brief. ๐Ÿ˜‰

As always, you can read the full release notes on their official blog.

Support wildcards when including YAML CI/CD configuration files

Screenshot of the Support wildcards when including YAML CI/CD configuration files changelog on the GitLab blog.

I don't have a use case yet where I would like to include a lot of .gitlab-ci.yml files, but I think it's worth keeping this new functionality in mind when designing CI/CD pipelines. Maybe this will help me someday? ๐Ÿค”

Git default branch name change

Screenshot of the Git default branch name change changelog on the GitLab blog.

Have you read my post on a more inclusive workplace? This new improvement can be considered very minimal, but since many developers doesn't botter to change the default values, this change will help the world to get rid of the master word in Git. ๐Ÿ˜‡

WIP (work in progress) merge requests removal

Screenshot of the WIP (work in progress) merge requests removal changelog on the GitLab blog.

I can't remember how many times a new colleague asked me what the WIP acronym stood for when he first started using our self-managed GitLab. ๐Ÿ™„ So I am very happy that this term is now deprecated and will be removed in the next major release. ๐Ÿค—

Top comments (0)