DEV Community

Cover image for First Post: My Road in Computer Science
Brett Hammit
Brett Hammit

Posted on • Updated on

First Post: My Road in Computer Science

It has been a long time coming and I have finally gathered the motivation to write my first post. Since this is my first blog post I guess I need to give some context of who I am and why I'm writing this.

About Me:

My name is Brett Hammit and at the time I'm writing this I'm 21 years old and in my third year of college. I am a Computer Science Major at Abilene Christian University and play baseball as well. This blog is primarily going to just be somewhere that I can give updates on my journey in Computer Science and a place I can share projects and things that interest me.

So Far in Computer Science:

I wrote my first ("Hello World") in Python about 2 years ago and found just a bit of interest in programming. I had no idea what I wanted to do with it or even if I wanted to work in that line, but it was just kinda something that I knew that I liked doing. Over the 2 years that have transpired I wanted to go into school for Computer Science, but was told that the degree would be too hard for a Division 1 athlete to balance, so I went into a Business Major. After my first year of business classes, I felt that I just wasn't in any classes that truly interested me. During the time I was doing these business classes I was teaching myself Python by online courses here and there. After the year was over I realized I wanted to do what I was passionate about and go to school for Computer Science even if it meant challenging myself and pushing things to the edge. Life happened, and I ended up transferring to a 2 year college for baseball, but officially changed my major to Computer Science and could only take a limited amount of CS classes that were offered there. This was just another speed bump in my journey through programming. I was not going to let any of these obstacles prevent me from doing what I wanted to do.

Moving Forward:

Fast forward to today I am now at another 4 year university and taking CS courses this year and pursuing my degree in Computer Science. It feels like a weight has been lifted off my shoulders now that I am finally able to be going to school and excited about what I am getting to learn about for the day. My current interests I am chasing right now is getting into Data Science through Python as I continue to work my way through other CS topics to see what else I am curious to learn about. The purpose of this blog or whatever it may be is just somewhere I can share my projects or things that I'm learning about that I want to share with people. My advice to anyone that is reading this is that even if people try to steer you away from Computer Science or say it will be too hard for you; go for it if you're passionate about it. This has been a long time coming and I'm looking forward to writing more here!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
svemaraju profile image
Srikanth

Congrats. How are you liking programming with python until now?

Collapse
 
berett21 profile image
Brett Hammit

Really enjoying the flexibility of the language and the freedom it allows and working with Data Science within it!

Collapse
 
samuel_nait profile image
Samuel NAIT πŸ‡«πŸ‡·

Congrats, happy to see you found your way! I've just read your first article about ML, you looks passionate. πŸ‘

Have a nice journey computer science journey. πŸ‘Œ