DEV Community

Cover image for Juggling AI prompts with a tech virgo
Bernardo Bechtold
Bernardo Bechtold

Posted on

Juggling AI prompts with a tech virgo

Recently I realised how much I wrestle with manual typing and copy-pasting when interacting with AI chats.

Also, I'm a tech virgo ♍️. That means that I NEED my digital assets categorized and organized, otherwise I get lost. So I started hunting ways to:

  • keep and organize prompts;
  • discover prompts I forgot about them;
  • use the prompt in a chat with minimum steps;
  • can keep my hands the most on my keyboard;
  • share my prompts with others;

For that, I've tried two approaches with twos softwares I use a lot day to day: Notion and Raycast.

Notion: Organising with Finesse

For my workflow, it was crucial to not just collect prompts but also organize and have the flexibility to refine them later. It was essential to have a clear list of all the categories I've created and easily access the prompts associated with each one.

To achieve this, I made a Notion page with two databases: one for storing prompts and another for managing categories. Then, I set up a relationship column that connects a prompt to a category. This way, I can display all prompts grouped by category.

Notion page

After dedicating some time to crafting the template, I was able to streamline the process of managing, sorting, and sharing my prompts.

Notion template

📣 FYI: you can get my template here

Even though most of my problems were fixed, I still felt there still remained a somewhat cumbersome flow when using a prompt. There are still too many steps:

  1. Locate the desired prompt in the list.
  2. Copy it.
  3. Paste it into the chat.
  4. Fine-tune the prompt.

I also had some trouble navigating Notion using just the keyboard. Switching between columns, like going from Shortcuts to database lists, was a bit tricky. The only way was to use the up and down arrow keys until I got to where I needed. Plus, I couldn't figure out how to switch tabs in a database list. This small issue made me look for a smoother solution.

Raycast: the Keyboard Magician

Raycast is an advanced Launcher app for Mac, similar to Spotlight or Alfred, but with a boost. It comes preloaded with a range of useful commands, from managing window size and position to searching for emojis. And if that's not enough, there's a store where you can access even more actions, or you can create your own to perfectly suit your workflow.

One standout feature of Raycast for me is its keyboard navigation. So far, I've been able to do everything I need without touching the mouse.

If you haven't already, I highly recommend installing Raycast on your Mac after reading this (note: this isn't a sponsored article, though I wish it were).

On the topic of features, it includes a Snippet tool for managing... well, snippets. But it offers even more than that.

Raycast app listing all the snippets

You can set up "shortcuts" (known as keywords) that will automatically insert the snippet when you type the shortcut.

You can also include placeholders (e.g., {dynamic-text}) in your snippet. Raycast will then replace this placeholder with whatever is in your clipboard. This is incredibly handy for tasks like proofreading. Simply copy the text, type the keyword, and Raycast will substitute it with your snippet, placing the text where you've set the placeholder.

Finally, you can share your snippets with others using a shareable link, allowing them to easily import your snippets.

The downside is that there's not much you can do to organize the snippets like adding tags. As a tech virgo, I like grouping similar things together for discoverability. However, the search is efficient and can find the snippets by keyword, title or content.

What is the best?

Choosing between the two boils down to your preference: prioritizing organization or emphasizing keyboard efficiency. Bellow I list some pros and cons:

Notion

Pros

  • Exceptionally robust for managing data and accessing saved prompts and AI interactions.

Cons

  • It's easy to get lost in customizing your Notion workflow, potentially spending a lot of time. However, finding a suitable template can mitigate this.
  • Achieving the same level of keyboard productivity I'm accustomed to requires additional steps like copying, pasting, and modifying prompts.

Raycast

Pros

  • Remarkable for keyboard-driven productivity; the entire app is optimized for keyboard navigation, and text replacements are seamless.
  • It's always accessible, akin to Spotlight, ready for prompts.

Cons

  • Aside from title, content, and keyword, there's limited options for organizing data.
  • It lacks a feature for curating prompts and answers, which can potentially get buried in the app.

Do you have a different app for keeping prompts? Leave a comment bellow and let me know.

Top comments (0)