DEV Community

Bertil Muth
Bertil Muth

Posted on

Software that helps

I am wondering who of you write software that „truly“ helps other people.

In a way, all software does. But I am thinking e.g. about software that runs a pacemaker, or maybe you’re developing software for a non-profit that deals with social issues.

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
dmfay profile image
Dian Fay • Edited

The only actual nonprofit I ever did any work for was also going through a number of board revolts while being investigated by the SEC so whether I actually made a meaningful improvement in anyone's life is up for debate. But my last job was at a for-profit web accessibility testing and compliance shop -- doing well by doing good, if you will -- and the startup I work for now is helping farmers get hyperlocal weather and environment measurements.

Collapse
 
thomasjunkos profile image
Thomas Junkツ • Edited

I work for a small open source company in Germany and do this for a living.
Most of the projects I work on are for the public sector. And my biggest project so far was funded by the European Union for youth care - for young people in precarious situations. The software helped the streetworker keeping track of these cases.

So in an indirect sense, it "helped".

Collapse
 
nazimboudeffa profile image
Nazim Boudeffa • Edited

Very good question, I think you mean a software that is proven to make the world better again or am I wrong ?
So in fact I am a member of openfoodfacts.org community I don't know if you heard about it ? And I think that it's a very usefull softaware (in facts it's a database of foods all around the world)

Collapse
 
bertilmuth profile image
Bertil Muth

Looks like a good thing to contribute to. Thank you for sharing.

Collapse
 
hpinio profile image
Haritian Pinio

Is making a portal for NGO or NPO considered?
Unfortunately that portal is closed now :(

Collapse
 
itsdarrylnorris profile image
Darryl Norris

This is hard to figure out unless someone works for a non-profit org or have done any work for non-profits.

Do you write software that "truly" helps other people?

Collapse
 
bertilmuth profile image
Bertil Muth

Currently, I don't think so.

The closest I got was probably when I helped write software for radiation therapy for cancer patients during my time at university.