DEV Community

Adrian B.G.
Adrian B.G.

Posted on

Barking at the right tree (1000 followers)

New milestone

Hello!

I've reached a new (biggest so far) milestone in my ... publishing career, sort to speak ... more exactly 1000 followers on dev.to

Like I said on twitter, I was "writing" on the wrong platforms all this long.

I made some experiments and studies on different social media channels, from instagram to linkedin, and I could throw poo all day long, but you can just look at the top content to see for yourself.

Dev.to

Here you do not have to be a super star in order to have people read your content.

I will treat this event as a good sign. I will continue to write and help as many devs as I can. I have some big plans for next year, the people I am currently helping encourage me as well:

  • new blog stack (transit to Hugo, medium no longer fits my needs, 8s loading time ...)
  • finish my 12+ series of Pragmatic Docker tutorials and real examples for developers
  • start a Youtube channel (I have previous editing experience, I just need some hardware and to improve my English), mostly for Programming and Cloud basic tutorials. I want to cover all the missing topics from Bootcamps and courses.

Context: now I am helping junior developers on 1-1 sessions, and I realized that I can help 1-n people just by recording the material, because most of the problems they encounter are common.

  • finish 2 chapters of my book (long stretch, probably will not happen, but hey ... wishful thinking)

Thank you !!!

Top comments (8)

 
bgadrian profile image
Adrian B.G.

I watched hundred of videos of CS on youtube and read tons of tutorials, there are many of them indeed, but their quality is very low.

I think I can fill some gaps. For example most of them treat CS problems like abstract statues, and they do not give a real context where they are used and how. Implementation is indeed another problem, they are usually in Java, with ugly written code i and j and hard to understand. Most of them can be written very nice in Go.

Collapse
 
bgadrian profile image
Adrian B.G.

I will try to keep the basic CS as technology-agnostic as I can. But to have the full effect I will have to choose a common language, like Java or JS.

But Go being my specialization, probably I will squeeze it around :D people has to know how awesome it is

 
bgadrian profile image
Adrian B.G.

Yes, but I will never use Udemy. I heard many horror stories, lots of content theft and they take 50% of the income (for most sells).

BaseCS looks great, but has other audience, most ppl I know learn exclusive from videos, not text. And also it has the same issues as the others, there are no real life examples or practical use of the theory.

I have a more unique overview based on my experience and the fact that I study CS, architecture and distributed systems. I can make some correlations between these with examples in a few languages as well.

Collapse
 
wangonya profile image
Kelvin Wangonya

Congrats!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Congrats!!