DEV Community

Bhanu
Bhanu

Posted on

Looking to Develop an App for My Event Planning Business - Need Advice!

Hello fellow developers and app enthusiasts,
I hope you're all doing well. I run an event planning business and have a background in Java Full Stack with Angular. I've decided to take my business to the next level by developing an app to streamline the event planning process and offer more convenient solutions to my clients. However, I'm looking for some guidance on how to go about this exciting project.Here's what I have in mind and the advice I'm seeking:

  1. Platform Choice: Since I have experience with Java Full Stack and Angular, I'm inclined to use these technologies for my app. Do you think these technologies are a good choice for app development, or should I consider something else?
  2. Learning New Skills: I'm aware that app development may require additional skills beyond what I already know. What new skills or technologies do I need to learn in order to develop a successful event planning app? Any recommendations on online courses or resources for these?
  3. App Development Process: I'm relatively new to app development, and I'm wondering about the overall development process. What are the key stages involved in creating an app, from concept to launch? Are there any best practices or frameworks that I should be aware of?
  4. Monetization Strategies: I'm planning to make this app a part of my business model. Any insights on effective monetization strategies for event planning apps, like subscriptions, one-time payments, or in-app advertising?5. Building a Team: If my project grows, I might need to expand my development team. How do I find and collaborate with skilled developers, designers, and other professionals who can help bring my app to life?
  5. Marketing and Promotion: Once the app is developed, marketing and promotion will be crucial. Any tips on how to effectively market an event planning app to potential users and clients?Your advice and insights on any of these topics would be greatly appreciated. I'm really excited to embark on this journey and I want to make sure I'm heading in the right direction. Thanks in advance for your help!

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
danielzotti profile image
Daniel Zotti

Hey! Welcome to DEV! πŸ˜ƒ
I think this post can be useful to many other people! ! I'll reply briefly with my opinion:

  1. If it's for your business, I would go with technologies you are comfortable with. You already know how to deal with common problems and your coding speed is faster for sure.. Plus, with Java+Angular you can create anything your mind can imagine πŸ˜‰
  2. It depdends on the features you want to add to the app.. Let's say you want to offer a live video streaming service, you might need to learn how to deal with poor connections or older devices.. But if you do not add this feature, you don't have to learn it! 😜
  3. Think about features and use cases first, then design a basic wireframe with functionalities in mind and finally create the UI.. Start coding as the last step.. Coding the frontend part is much faster if you have the UI ready and tested.. And the wireframe/UI/use cases help you think about how to develop the backend and the DB as well. I'm not saying "use the waterfall approach".. Being agile is the best choice in 2023, but I want to emphasize the importance of having very clear idea of what you want your application to do.
  4. I have never thought about monetization since I've always worked as a developer and, in case, other teammates would work on that. I'm sorry πŸ˜•
  5. Same as 4 πŸ˜…

In general, if you put effort, passion and are constant in development, something will come out for sure... Regardless of the technology used! For the marketing/monetization part, on the other hand, I would contact some expert because I've seen a lot of friends/colleagues who have wasted a lot of money on that.

In any case, good luck! πŸ’ͺ

Collapse
 
bhanu_69 profile image
Bhanu

Thank You @danielzotti

Collapse
 
llxd profile image
Lucas Lima do Nascimento

Hey @bhanu_69, welcome to DEV! Glad to see you here with us!

For the technologies in specific I'm not really into the Java ecosystem, so maybe I'm not the best person to have sayings on that, but, for the development process as a whole and the software engineering parts of it, I have this article written that I think it may help you!

Good luck with your journey! Looking forward to see some more of it!

Collapse
 
bhanu_69 profile image
Bhanu

It's really nice.