DEV Community

Bijay Kumar Pun
Bijay Kumar Pun

Posted on

5 things I learnt during my first year as a developer

I managed to 'survive' a year working as an Android developer. Congratulations to me.

Here are top 5 things that I learnt over these past 14 months, listed in no particular order.

  1. Learning curve slows down over time, but it never stops
    I started my developer career as an Android Developer intern, and those days were just intense! I had new stuff coming every other hour, and that was just pure gold. I thought things would always be like that, and I was both excited and scared at the same time. But once I started getting the hang of it, things started to slow down. But, what I've understood is this process never stops. You learn new things in your field every day, just not as much as in the early days.

  2. Linux is better than Windows
    Unless you require some specific application that runs on Windows only, I think Linux is a heck of a lot better OS for doing all the development stuff. Period. I had tried Linux Mint because it looked close to Windows, but that was before I was doing the development work.
    Later I switched to Ubuntu, and I admit I was not very impressed, specially with the UI. Desktop and UI looked as if I was in 2009. But it didn't take much time for me to realize that Ubuntu was just, and read well when I say this, 'distraction-less'. I, all of a sudden, didn't need all those fancy applications or fancier looking UI or disruptive updates. Ubuntu got the job done calmly, yet in a superior way. I've never had to look back ever since.

  3. Looking at how others code is like taking three step ahead instead of two
    No doubt I wrote messy codes, and I still do, but I can say for a fact that looking at others' code made me learn so much faster, specially regarding "how" to code, rather than "what". Of course I still cherish the idea of discovering something on my own. But looking at somebody else's masterpiece and trying to replicate that, is just priceless.

  4. There is a skill that you do as your job, and other skills that need to come with it, and the latter is equally important
    As an Android developer, Java/Android was my main skill. But there were others that had to come with it, in a way, like Git for example. And not to mention designing and design principles etc. Sometimes these side skills are what make you stand out.

  5. Coding a polished project from 0 to end, will take really long time
    I need not explain more on it.

[Time's up!]
Rest for some other time I guess.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
patricnox profile image
PatricNox • Edited

I would like to lift the second point, Linux is better than windows.

Within my time as a student, and before, I always used a PC. My belief and opinions against Mac and Linux was negative, with arguments towards the lack of user ability.

For sure, an elderly would find it easier to use a PC over the other two if they try the OS's for the very first time.

This also goes for people with any learning disorder.

At the University where I studied for web development, or actually I was just there to get my experience on paper, everyone used a Mac but me. I said no. It's bad OS.

After my graduation I got hired at a web agency the very same day. Their suggestion: "Try it out! If you don't like it after a week, we give you a PC as disposal."

You see where this is heading.

Within a week I could state that my preference over Mac and Linux for development is Much much higher than PC. It's like these machines are actually built for developers!

Keys are placed in a behavior where you don't have to shift your hand as much. Key binds as well. The filesystem is perfect organized and the feeling of keyboard, love it!!

Today I use a Mac High Sierra at work, and will definitely buy a private one once possible.

Then, my friends. Then I shall move the 100gb collection of projects to my mac!🎉

.....Anyways.. I love Mac. When it comes to development.