DEV Community

Billibear
Billibear

Posted on

Want free opinions my portfolio site.

Hello, everyone!

I had deployed my portfolio site and I think it has some lack of design and contents. So, I want hear any opinion or good idea from you - smart developers and designers. The source is not fully my own.

This is the link.
https://youthful-bose-f418f4.netlify.app/

Kind regards.

Top comments (14)

Collapse
 
billibear profile image
Billibear

Thanks for your feedback.

Collapse
 
aqeelzeid profile image
Aqeel-Zeid

Hi , couple of suggestions

  1. Try to stick to one type of font , use font weight , size and color to introduce contrast , I suggest Mosterrat , Poppins , Graphik (choose a modern looking font)

  2. Think of who you are sending this page to , and what you expect them to do , then make it as easy as possible for them to do the thing that expect them to do.

will you be sending this to crypto companies looking for devs ? or entrepreneurs trying to start a new project (looking for freelancers)

both these parties need to 1. understand who you are , 2. gain a confidence 3. realise you are suitable for their project (from your past experience ) and 4. take one of two actions 1. Contact you 2. Download your resume and keep for reference or send it to their boss .

All Of these has to happen within a span of 10-60 seconds (Minimise Clicks and navigation )

  1. Understand who you are (First 5-10 seconds):

they will first read the hero section , inside that they will first read the hero text , and then the description underneath , I suggest you have your primary CTA buttons download my resume and contact me underneath the description.

Hero Text :
Hi , I am Bryan Usi c , I am a Block chain and front end developer

Description : (You have so much experience and passion , show it in 2-3 sentences)
I have worked on X number of projects such as ".. some project" and "other project" and I focus on doing ___ for my clients.

  1. Gaining trust (next 10-30 seconds): Gaining trust can be done in mainly two ways , showing your projects and testimonials , in your case even your ranking can be included
    I suggest you bring your projects to the main page 2nd section (dont make them take the extra effort of clicking and finding them , there is a chance they may not ) you can have buttons that link to full description of the project including what you did , what unique problems you solved , and how you solved them

  2. Again have a section at the end to incentivise to take an action

    make sure the CV download button is working (You dont need a separate section for that )
    Make sure your contact me buttons are working
    you dont have to save space by using tiny icon buttons
    put your email clearly in full text , and your phone number if you prefer , and your main social handles

  3. Have a section for testimonials from your old clients who loved the work you did for them , 2-3 is enough

in summary dont make your client think
also as suggested by @nate get rid of the top % stuff, instead add valueble things about what you have done it really makes you look unprofessional.

Hope you land better gigs in the future !
Best Of Luck

Collapse
 
tamirazrab profile image
Tamir

"Welcome to my page" doesn't does anything and yet it covers about 65% of page in mobile, maybe add something which shows you provide value to your visitor some pitch line. Another thing is you are using same colour in paragraphs as well to highlight main words which are same as heading problem is they both competing for attention I don't know where to look first, color in paragraph should be different, maybe same family and lighter shades, or different color which complements your main theme color, other than that more issues are already mentioned,
Happy fixing.

Collapse
 
billibear profile image
Billibear

Cool, that's good idea!

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

I really like the colour scheme.
Tips:

  • Change the font
  • In the resume page, the resume is light mode and I'm on dark mode
Collapse
 
billibear profile image
Billibear

Thanks for your suggestion! It was helpful.

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

No problem! Just ping me if you need anything

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
billibear profile image
Billibear

Thanks, I will.

Collapse
 
flimtix profile image
Flimtix

In addition, the PDF is not loaded correctly on mobile. "Ranks" cannot be opened either.

A very great website, but not yet responsive. Great, keep going! 🤗👍

Collapse
 
billibear profile image
Billibear

Yes, I will. Thanks.

Collapse
 
faizelgaroeb profile image
faizelGaroeb

👍 good work!!

Collapse
 
crunchstack profile image
CRUNCHSTACK

I really like the animation at the beginning but you should change the font, it doesn't stand out enough

Collapse
 
billibear profile image
Billibear

Thanks for your suggestion and it is so helpful.