DEV Community

Adeniran Abdullahi
Adeniran Abdullahi

Posted on

Unlocking the World of Technology: My Journey and Skillset

After immersing myself in countless books, online courses, and lectures — including MIT's OpenCourseWare — I've gained a deep understanding of a wide range of technologies. I've learned how services and protocols are built, and how systems and communication networks are layered to ensure performance, efficiency, reliability, security, and, most importantly, cost optimization for businesses.
My name is Abdullahi Adeniran, and I am a passionate technology enthusiast with a lifelong curiosity about how systems work. I began my career as a freelance Node.js developer right after completing my diploma. However, in 2019, I realized that some of the websites and services I built were insecure and inefficient. A client once called to inform me that their website was lagging due to high traffic. Despite my limited knowledge at the time, I managed to add more instances to the web server, but I also discovered that the single-node MongoDB instance was neither fault-tolerant nor scalable.

Determined to be among the top 30% of professionals who deeply understand tech-driven systems, I decided to pursue a BSc in Cybersecurity while continuously learning online through platforms like Udemy, YouTube, ITProTV, and Coursera. Today, I have honed my skills as a Node.js Backend Engineer, developed a solid understanding of AWS solutions architecture, and gained expertise in systems design. Currently, I am expanding my knowledge to become a Cybersecurity Engineer.

Here are some of the skills and tools I’ve mastered along the way:
Linux Systems: Proficient in using Linux machines, Bash scripting, and networking.
Programming: Strong in Python, JavaScript, Rust, Java, with foundational knowledge of C.
Scripting and Coding: Skilled in scripting with Python and coding with Node.js and Rust.
Cloud Services: Experience with AWS Cloud services and Oracle Cloud Infrastructure.
Databases: Proficient in SQL.
Infrastructure as Code: Experience with Ansible for infrastructure provisioning.
Containerization and Orchestration: Docker and Kubernetes.
AI Tools: Leveraging ChatGPT for various applications.

I am eager to connect with like-minded professionals, explore new opportunities, and contribute to innovative projects in technology. Let’s connect and see how we can drive the future of tech together!

Top comments (0)