DEV Community

BINIL THOMAS
BINIL THOMAS

Posted on

My Journey as a Beginner in Full Stack Development

As someone who is new to the world of full stack development, I recently completed the Phase 1 Full Stack Development Course and wanted to share my experience. This course covered a wide range of topics, from front-end development to back-end development, and provided me with a solid foundation for building web applications.

What I Learned
Throughout the course, I learned the following key concepts and technologies:

HTML, CSS, JSON, and JavaScript
These are the fundamental building blocks of web development and are essential for creating dynamic and interactive web pages. HTML is used to structure content on the page, while CSS is used to style the content and give it visual appeal. JavaScript is used to add interactivity and functionality to the web page, such as responding to user input and manipulating the content on the page. JSON is a lightweight data interchange format that is commonly used to send and receive data between client and server.

During the course, I learned how to create basic HTML and CSS layouts, how to use JSON to exchange data between client and server, and how to use JavaScript to add interactivity and functionality to my web pages. I also learned about best practices for organizing and structuring my code, which helped me write more maintainable and scalable code.

Git and Github
Git is a popular version control system that allows developers to track changes to their code over time, collaborate with other developers, and maintain different versions of their code. Github is a web-based platform that provides hosting for Git repositories and offers a variety of collaboration and project management tools.

During the course, I learned how to use Git to track changes to my code, create branches, merge changes, and collaborate with other developers. I also learned how to use Github to host my code, collaborate with other developers, and manage project tasks and issues.

Slack, Piazza, and Canvas
Slack, Piazza, and Canvas are communication and collaboration tools commonly used in online courses and in the workplace. Slack is a messaging and collaboration platform that allows teams to communicate and collaborate in real-time. Piazza is a Q&A platform that allows students to ask and answer questions related to course material. Canvas is an online learning management system that provides course materials, assignments, and grades to students.

During the course, I learned how to use these tools to communicate with my classmates and instructors, ask and answer questions related to course material, and access course materials and assignments.

Conclusion
Overall, the Phase 1 Full Stack Development Course provided me with a solid foundation in front-end and back-end development, as well as important tools for collaboration and project management. I look forward to building on these skills in future courses and projects and share my knowledge.

Top comments (0)