DEV Community

Bjoern
Bjoern

Posted on • Updated on

Discussion: Supabase vs. Firebase - What do you think?

Hey there,
I want to keep this short. As a tech enthusiast, I love to try new things. My normal tech stack would be a Firebase backend and a Vercel NextJS frontend.

Now I stumbled upon two things that I got recommended by others and haven't had the chance to test so I thought I would ask you :)

What are your experiences with Firebase?
(Bonus: the second thing is Cloudflare Pages vs. Vercel but the more pressing question is the first)

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
aspittel profile image
Ali Spittel

Biased but with AWS Amplify you can have the backend and frontend pieces fully integrated! You could use the Gen 2 preview to write a backend in code and deploy your frontend in one experience.

Collapse
 
bjoentrepreneur profile image
Bjoern

AWS is good too, for sure! Agree 100%. Having your backend in code is a good practice, and at least for Firebase, I know it is possible as well (at least it's the way I use it).

Do you rely on Amplify to deploy your backend or do you use a third party solution, e.g. serverless framework?

Collapse
 
aspittel profile image
Ali Spittel

Disclaimer that I work on Amplify, so I use it directly!

Collapse
 
biplav_sharma_0a01edffa7a profile image
Biplav Sharma

Pocketbase is the ultimate side hustle backend in my opinion. Never thought that sqlite can be in a production ready environment.

Bonus:
We can look into other alternatives as

  1. Mongodb realm for nosql BAAS
  2. Nhost if you like supabase but with graphql
  3. Apprite: is kinda nosql database but on top of Maria DB
Collapse
 
bjoentrepreneur profile image
Bjoern

Pocketbase sounds like a really interesting concept. Thanks so much for sharing. Do you use it to kick off all your projects, and did you encounter limitations so far?

Collapse
 
biplav_sharma_0a01edffa7a profile image
Biplav Sharma

Yes if its a small project. the only limitation i found was it can be scaled vertically only. Its kinda powerful tool specially if you use as a go framework.