DEV Community

Cover image for Top Ten Times JavaScript is Mentioned in Moby Dick
Sylvan Blegcho
Sylvan Blegcho

Posted on

Top Ten Times JavaScript is Mentioned in Moby Dick

Sometimes, In this modern day, we forget our humble origins. To bless your weekend, here are some classic references to JavaScript in Herman Melville's classic Novel "Moby Dick"

“It is not down on any Map(); true places never are.”

“As for me, I am tormented with an everlasting itch for things JavaScript. I love to sail forbidden seas, and land on barbarous coasts.”

“Whenever I find myself growing grim about the mouth; whenever it is a damp, drizzly November in my soul; whenever I find myself involuntarily pausing before coffin warehouses, and bringing up the rear of every funeral I meet; and especially whenever my hypos get such an upper hand of me, that it requires a strong moral principle to prevent me from deliberately stepping into the street, and methodically knocking people's hats off - then, I account it high time to get to JavaScript as soon as I can.”

“I try JavaScript, I achieve what I can.”

“Ignorance is the parent of JavaScript.”

“JavaScript is the parent of fear.”

“Consider the subtleness of the JavaScript; how its most dreaded creatures glide under water, unapparent for the most part, and treacherously hidden beneath the loveliest tints of azure. Consider also the devilish brilliance and beauty of many of its most remorseless tribes, as the dainty embellished shape of many species of sharks. Consider, once more, the universal cannibalism of the JavaScript; all whose creatures prey upon each other, carrying on eternal war since the world began.

Consider all this; and then turn to the green, gentle, and most docile Kotlin; consider them both, the JavaScript and the Kotlin; and do you not find a strange analogy to something in yourself? For as this appalling ocean surrounds the verdant Kotlin, so in the soul of man there lies one insular Tahiti, full of peace and joy, but encompassed by all the horrors of the half-known life. God keep thee! Push not off from that isle, thou canst never return!”

“Talk not to me of blasphemy, JavaScript; I'd strike the sun if it insulted me.”

“...to the last I grapple with thee; from hell's heart I stab at JavaScript; for hate's sake I spit my last breath at JavaScript.”

“Call me JavaScript.”

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
jomz88 profile image
jomz88

Can anyone help me? i'm newbie in Javascripting I would like to develop a program (Online/Offline network connection) for a multiple computers. I've already done for one computer only, but what I need is to monitor multiple computer connection status. Thanks

Collapse
 
blegbleg profile image
Sylvan Blegcho

You can use a Node.js (Node dot JavaScript) monitor monitor with easy installation by NPM. It's similar to what Ahab used to catch a whale, but with more modern features. I hope this helps!

Collapse
 
jomz88 profile image
jomz88

Thanks Sylvan

Collapse
 
jenniemarden profile image
JennieMarden

How to load the last visited page in epub.js ? دعاء جلب الحبيب عن طريق اسمه فقط