DEV Community

Cover image for Write a Post, Get Paid
Bobby Iliev
Bobby Iliev

Posted on • Originally published at devdojo.com

Write a Post, Get Paid

Are you a developer who enjoys writing articles and tutorials?

If so, here's an opportunity to earn some money on a weekly basis.

You can write these tutorials/posts on your own site and you can re-post them to the DevDojo for a chance to win $20 each week.

If you are posting from another source make sure to include the original link in the post settings when adding it to the DevDojo.

original-source.png

Each week we'll be selecting 3 articles to feature and your article will be listed on the homepage and on the featured page.

In the future, we may increase the amount paid and the number of articles that get featured.

If you are going to write a developer tutorial/post anywhere, make sure to add it to the DevDojo as well to possibly earn some extra dough and get some extra exposure ✌️

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
pazvanti profile image
pazvanti

There are many things I like about the site, but there are a few that I think that can be improved.

  1. Search by tag - This way I can see articles posted for a certain programming language or tech
  2. Display tags in the article - This will allow to search by tag (see first point)
  3. Some feed with the latest published articles - On the home page I still only see articles published 8 hours ago. This makes it really hard to discover new developer
  4. Stats for the published article - As a writer, I want to see how many people read my article
  5. Explain how to get points so that I appear in the Weekly Top Users section. With two articles published, I still only have 5 points.
Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Hi there 👋,

Thank you for the valuable feedback! This is highly appreciated!

Regarding your suggestions:

  • There is a tags page where you can see the most popular tags. But great idea that it should be more visible on the site!
  • The tags are displayed in the article page as long as the author added any tags, here is an example post
  • Great idea! Will get this implemented soon!
  • We are actually working on this already!
  • There is a page already that explains how you could earn points here.

Thanks again for all those great suggestions!

Collapse
 
pazvanti profile image
pazvanti

Came back with a few more comments (sorry if I am too picky :D )

  • Yes, the tags are visible. This was my bad, but I think it is because adding tags is a bit misleading. I added them as "tag1, tag2, tag3", instead you have to press enter after each tag. Because I did not, initially there were no tags added. Maybe this can be improved.
  • Yes, saw the page about getting points right after I commented here. I though that writting articles gets you points as well and was confused as to why I still got 5 after 2 articles. Why doesn't article submission get you points?

Anyway, there are many good things and I really like the site. Keep up the good work.

Thread Thread
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Hey again 👋,

Yes absolutely! Love your feedback!

Giving points for posted articles is actually a good idea, maybe I could limit it to a certain number of posts that give you points each day, so that it does not get abused.

Thanks again!

Collapse
 
pazvanti profile image
pazvanti

I know this is late, but I've actually been using the platform ever since this post. I really like it a lot, but I truly believe a "discovery" system needs to be made. Currently, only featured posts are easy to find. This makes is hard to discover new articles and the main home-page remains pretty static throughout the day.
It also has a negative impact on the number of article views. My articles that got featured on the front page have 10x-15x more views than those that do not. I know that this is normal and all sites have this, but better rotation or a way to easy see non-featured articles is a must. Maybe a way to follow some tags? The home page can be left as-is, just adding a new page "Following" would help

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Hi there!
Happy to hear that you’ve been enjoying the platform!
I’ve implemented some of your suggestions already 🙌
You can actually see the latest posts here:

devdojo.com/latest

I’ve got this implemented last week, but just noticed that the link in the side bar menu is wrong. 😅 will get it fixed today.

I love the idea about following! I will get this implemented too 🤘

Collapse
 
pazvanti profile image
pazvanti

Perfect! Really nice to see that suggestions are actually read and implemented :D

Thread Thread
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

No problem! Thank you for the great suggestions and for being an active member! 🙌

Collapse
 
alexgeorgiev17 profile image
Alex Georgiev

Great initiative, Bobby! Hopefully, this will motivate people to create valuable content.

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Thank you Alex! 🙏

Collapse
 
nathandaly profile image
Nathan Daly

Key word being valuable and not just cickbait with a poorly written article with limited technical throughput.

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Yes exactly! Only high-quality posts will be featured on the site.

Collapse
 
payalsasmal profile image
Payalsasmal

Wow good to know Bobby.

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Thank you! Appreciate this!

Collapse
 
wagslane profile image
Lane Wagner

You can also drop links to coding courses you want to support to earn extra cash! qvault.io/affiliates/