DEV Community

Cover image for I need a better code journaling app than Evernote.
Bob Walsh
Bob Walsh

Posted on

I need a better code journaling app than Evernote.

Thanks to a series here Why you should keep a Code Journal | Code Journaling pt 1 of 4 - DEV Community 👩‍💻👨‍💻 I've been seriously reconsidering how I work.

I start the day with a new note in Evernote. As the day progresses, I enter little tidbits of knowledge I took me way to long to google (ex. Netlify, the build command for a nuxt project has to be nuxt generate).

But Evernote is a horrible notetaking/journaling environment for a developer.

So, any recommendations for a good digital notetaking Saas?

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
jamesdengel profile image
James dengel

I've found a simple solution to this for myself.

github.com/GitJournal/GitJournal

It keeps all the notes in git, so everything is in searchable, dated, and simple and can enter it from my phone, whether I am at a computer or not.

It's no enterprise level but suits me just fine.

Collapse
 
bobwalsh47hats profile image
Bob Walsh

Hi James,

Good find - a lot closer to what I want: my data in my repo, a mobile app, easy modification. Still need a few things: a simple way to "bookmark" a URL in Chrome (Evernote web clipper).

Thanks for the suggestion: anything I can do for you?

Collapse
 
vhanda profile image
Vishesh Handa

Hi Bob. I'm the creator of GitJournal and happened to stumble upon this post. Please feel free to shoot me and email if there is someway I can improve it to better suit your needs.

The WebClipper feature might take a while.

Collapse
 
christianransom profile image
Christian Ransom

Hi Bob,

What is it about Evernote that you don't like or don't think is good for a developer? What kind of features are you looking for that Evernote doesn't have?

Collapse
 
bobwalsh47hats profile image
Bob Walsh
  1. turn my URLs into slack-like cards, so I can get some sense of what I "bookmarked",
  2. Give me a better mechanism for linking pages in notebooks.
  3. Better tagging UX
  4. Better markdown support.
  5. the Evernote web clipper is kind of a blunt instrument - more control.

That's off the top of my head. Any suggestions?

Collapse
 
christianransom profile image
Christian Ransom • Edited

Well I did recently see someone on another post comment about jupyter. I've haven't tried it out but it looks very interesting.

jupyter.org/

Thread Thread
 
bobwalsh47hats profile image
Bob Walsh

jupyter.orgIt is, took a look at the Ruby example. But not compelling enough to make the switch...

Collapse
 
bobwalsh47hats profile image
Bob Walsh

Thanks John - how are you doing your journaling on a day-to-day basis?

Collapse
 
pavelloz profile image
Paweł Kowalski • Edited

I like Notion (notion.so)

Collapse
 
bobwalsh47hats profile image
Bob Walsh

Notion is interesting but disorganized. It's a catch-all, not a structured approach - In my opinion.