DEV Community

Rudolf Jurišić for Bornfight

Posted on

4 tips for creating habits

Here are some important things when it comes to creating habits.
Implementing some of these ideas will increase your chances of success.

1. Never miss twice

You’re allowed to skip once. This rule will prevent you from the all or nothing mentality which people usually accept for some reason.

2. It takes time (compound interest)

Get 1% better each day and in 1 year you’ll be 38 times better (3800% increase). And here’s math to prove it: 1.01^365 ≈ 38 🙂
But. On day 10 you'll be "just" 10% better and result won't be spectacular or you might not even notice them.

3. Keep the difficulty in just the right zone

In order to be motivated, don’t ask too much of yourself in the beginning. If I want to achieve typing faster by typing 20 minutes daily, I would start typing everyday for 5 minutes (and then increase the duration over time).

4. Start small

If you are creating a habit to start running, for example, and you’re feeling hesitant at the moment, put your running shoes on. You’ll play a little trick on yourself. 🙂

These concepts or rules can be used in many situations.
What are your experiences? Do you have any tips?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
jschleigher profile image
James Schleigher

Thanks for the short and insightful post! I entirely agree with the last point; start small. For the past months, I have been trying to build a new habit of being more organized. In the beginning, I made a big change in a short time, but it didn't last long because I lost motivation. I read that it's better to start small and be consistent, and it is really a game-changing moment. I also use task management software to write down my to-do lists and track them down. I'd recommend Todoist and Quire.