DEV Community

Brayden W ⚡️
Brayden W ⚡️

Posted on

I learned some React in a week and made an emoji-searcher tool 😀🎉👏

Hi everyone!

About a week ago I posted about a CRM tool that I made with React after learning the framework for 24 hours. The final app turned out to be pretty cool and I got tons of feedback and compliments from you all. 🙏

But this time I wanted to step it up. 💪

I've been learning ReactJS for about a week now and learned concepts such as:

  • Components
  • Hooks
  • State Management
  • Styling
  • Optimization (kinda 😅)

So this is the final product after a week's worth of practicing.

How did it turn out?

I was looking online for some React project ideas that I can try out on my own. I stumbled across an emoji search-up tool that I thought looked pretty cool.

Fast forward a few days, I finished the design and functionality of the app.

📕 Github Repository: https://github.com/BraydenTW/react-emoji-search

💻 Live Demo: https://braydentw.github.io/react-emoji-search

A ⭐ on the repository is **very much* appreciated. Thanks :D*

Screenshot of app


Any feedback or ideas for what I should try next would be awesome.

Thanks again!

Top comments (27)

Collapse
 
yon1nja profile image
yon1nja

You should implement toLowerCase function on the search term because upper case search won’t bring back results

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Yep, I’m pushing those changes soon. :P

Collapse
 
darkdebo profile image
Debojyoti Chakraborty

Very nice bro love to fork it and do some more changes.

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Cool thanks! Very helpful :D

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Feel free to. I just marked it as an eligible Hacktoberfest repo :D

Collapse
 
darkdebo profile image
Debojyoti Chakraborty

Great love to collaborate

Thread Thread
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Cool, thanks :D

Collapse
 
achintyam1812 profile image
acm1812

Congrats on learning react! Looks good

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Thanks :D

Collapse
 
stef4nutz profile image
stephen

Nice, design looks also great. Also do you use framework or just React?

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Just React :D

Collapse
 
patriscus profile image
Patrick Ahmetovic

Nice work - I really dig it!

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Thanks :D

I hope to get some useful feedback and contributions. (It is a hacktoberfest repo as of now :P)

Collapse
 
zdev1official profile image
ZDev1Official

Nice!
I'll learn react!
It looks interesting!

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Thanks, I've been learning the fundamentals in the past week and it has made web apps so much easier.

Collapse
 
justjordant profile image
Jordan Taylor

Nice! good application!

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Thanks :D

Collapse
 
akashthakur05 profile image
Akash Singh

How to implement click to copy

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

I just used the onClick event on the item component and then used the Clipboard npm library.

Collapse
 
scroung720 profile image
scroung720

Nice stuff. Keep it up and congratz.

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Thanks :D

Collapse
 
tracycss profile image
Jane Tracy 👩🏽‍💻

Looks amazing. Love the ux part of it.

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Thanks :)

Collapse
 
hnrq profile image
Henrique Ramos

Keep up the good work, my man! So nice to see your progress in React!

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Thanks so much!! :D

Collapse
 
pavel_polivka profile image
Pavel Polívka

Hi looks awesome.

How did you get the data with the synonyms etc..?

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

I just found a file with Json data