DEV Community

Cover image for I polled 350+ developers on what Frontend framework they 💗
Brayden W ⚡️
Brayden W ⚡️

Posted on

I polled 350+ developers on what Frontend framework they 💗

Hey Dev Community! 👋

A while back, I created a poll on IndieHackers where I asked developers What front-end framework they 💗.

And it sure turned out great 👏

Over night there was 100s of votes coming in and now that things have settled down, I've gotten over 300 🤩

At the time of writing this, the results are:

Results of poll

Shall we discuss more about these results?

Recap

🥇 React

So... let's state the obvious. React won the poll by a mile 🤷‍♂️

Below are what some users said about React ⬇

@afkmango:

I recently picked up React and it has been a delight. Have you ever tried a framework/language and found it just "clicked" with you? That's been my experience with React.

@Nikoisonfire:

I personally like React for its simplicity, component system and JSX of course. I remember from the old PHP days where you could write PHP code within HTML and it's kinda taking me back

Great stuff overall. Very deserving of the top vote. 👏

🥈 VueJS

VueJS is super easy to learn and setup. All you need to develop with it is a CDN and an HTML file. I've tried Vue before and it was so simple to learn.

A comment with over 18 upvotes by @reader says:

Vue, easy to start with and even easier to maintain your code base.

With that amount of upvotes, it's obviously no lie that Vue is quick to learn and use in development.

🥉 Many others...

The vote that took third place was "other". With 11% percent of the votes, that brings the total for "other" to 36 votes. I honestly was expecting this. There are many other great frameworks/libraries to use for developing apps and websites. I just couldn't cram them all into one poll 😅.

Some of the top ones were:

  • Svelte
  • Stimulus JS
  • Elm
  • NextJS
  • And yes... some said Vanilla JS so I guess we'll make that count as "other" 😂

What are your thoughts?

Now that you've read this and seen the results for yourself, I want to know your favorite Frontend framework. (So does the rest of us 😉)

Share it in the comments below! 👇


Hope you enjoyed reading this! My name is Brayden and I'm the founder of buildfaster.co.

This is an extract from The BuildFaster Update which is where I talk about all sorts of cool designer/dev tips and updates coming to BuildFaster.co!

Read the full post 👈

Does that sound cool? Subscribe to get content in your inbox every Friday!

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
king11 profile image
Lakshya Singh

I personally prefer view coz the learning curve is very easy and you can build almost everything that you do with react with upside you don't have to use jsx and sticking with good old html css and javascript and even typescript noe.

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

That's true. I learned Vue last year and it was quite simple.

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

My preference is React that is where most of the jobs are at the moment and the community is huge which makes learning far easier. Vue would be my second choice however it is far more popular in the East and there are not as many jobs for it here in the West. Well maybe in Startups but medium to large sized companies are using more established frameworks like React and Angular. Svelte seems cool but its still growing so in terms of commercial job opportunities I don't think they exist yet. It is more for side projects in my opinion and as a proof of concept of its capabilities.

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Very true. I'm learning React right now and it's pretty cool. However when I tried out Vue about a year ago it was super easy. Very simple setup too with only a CDN.

Collapse
 
pulpfuture profile image
Adam Shockley

No love for Angular.

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Yeah I saw that too. Very unfamiliar with newer developers these days.

Collapse
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

REQUEST,
Add a poll for what style framework they used the most with each

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Very good idea! I'll do that this week on my IndieHackers