DEV Community

Cover image for API Party: Working with APIs!
Santosh Bhandari
Santosh Bhandari

Posted on

API Party: Working with APIs!

👋 Hello everyone, I hope everyone is doing fine!

I have been using Vue & Nuxt for a while now to develop various webapps. Most of mine works are personal or hobby projects.

For the past 3-4 days I have been working on a new project. API Party!!
Alt Text

Github link to the project is available at the bottom!

You can check the project live here: https://apiparty.vercel.app

What is it?

API party is yet another project to list hundreds and thousands of awesome API that are being used all around the world.

Why another project then?

Earlier I was working on a project but due to some error I got bored with it. After that I checked my to-do list which has stuffs from years back. Then I saw this project idea which I had noted when I didn't even know web dev. So then I instantly started working on it.

Also I found it can be useful for many users to find just the API they are looking for.

What are the features?

As I already said the entire project is done within 3-4 days of time period with around ~3:45 mins of work (includes today's work time as well). Because of that there are really few features. But still here is the list:

  • Open Source
  • Categorized list
  • Filters (search only as of now Will expand for sure)
  • Nice UI (I would love to know if you like it or not 😉)
  • Miscs information about the API
    • HTTPS support
    • Authentication type
  • Documentation/API links
  • And much more to come...

Future Plans

Here are some of the ideas that I have in my mind. Hopefully they will land soon on the production!

  • Add more filters (Based on the misc. details)
  • Add articles letting users know about API, usage and more
  • Move to a dedicated domain
  • And much more to come...

Open to contributions

As of now I am the only one working on this project and I have shared this to limited number of users that I know. You guys can use/share it with your friends and community members so that they can know about it and hopefully the project can benefit the user in any way possible.

But for the project to be beneficial it has to contain good amount of resources that are helpful right ??
The project has few resources (API details) as of now. So you can contribute to the project.

Let's make it By the PEOPLE, to the PEOPLE, for the PEOPLE!

Post Hacktoberfest

It hasn't been even a week since the end of Hacktoberfest 2020. The question is Are you still contributing to open source??

If you had been looking to contribute but were unable to find what and where to do, then you can contribute to this specific project.

You can contribute to this project by:

  • Submitting bug reports/ideas to improve the project
  • Adding new API to the list
  • Engaging with the community
  • Sharing the project with other people

All these stated above and many more are the ways to contribute to open-source projects. And I would be happy to see any sort of contributions 😄


GitHub logo TheLearneer / api-party

Awesome list of amazing API to be used!


If you read all the way upto here then I really appreciate it. Leave your thoughts about the project in the comments below. ✌️

#StaySafe #KeepDeveloping #BeHappy

Top comments (0)