DEV Community

Cover image for Learn Python From Scratch As a Frontend Developer
bytefish
bytefish

Posted on

Learn Python From Scratch As a Frontend Developer

As I mentioned in the title, I am a frontend developer who is familiar with JavaScript. Recently, I am going to learn Python from scratch.

Why do I want to learn Python now?

Because I want to write a web crawler and do some data analysis.

I have two choices for web scraping:

  • Use Nodejs-related tech stack
  • Use Python-related tech stack

Nodejs is a tool that I have worked with for some years. If I choose Node for web scraping, I can reuse my knowledge and don’t need to learn new things.

But as I know, Python is a more popular language for web scraping. It has a thriving ecosystem in this field. If I choose Python, there are lots of tools, libraries, tutorials, and Stack Overflow Q&A.

Meanwhile, I want to learn a new programming language to refresh my brain. So, I choose Python.

My Knowledge Background

Actually, I am not totally new to Python. Several years ago, with the popularity of artificial intelligence, I followed the trend and learned Python for a while.

But I didn’t dig into Python. And with time passed, I forget most knowledge about it. Now, Python is truly a new language for me.

How to learn a new programming language?

In my opinion, programming is an art to imitate the real world. No matter which language, there are always date types such as number, string, boolean, there are always some data structures such as array, map, set. We need keywords such as if , for to control flow, we need libraries to send network requests.

With experience in JavaScript, I have the confidence to learn Python faster.

Tutoirals about Python

When I search tutorials for Python on Google, there are pretty many results. Um, they are great.

But there all have a problem: Almost all the tutorials assume that learners are totally new to programming.

They will explain what is variable, what is a function, what is a class, etc. These concepts are important for new coders, but it’s meanless for experienced coders.

So I’m trying to use a new way to learn Python.

The Series

Writing is a great way to save the thought eternally. I plan to start a series to record my experience to learn Python.

I will record:

  • How I learn Python
  • What are my thoughts on Python (maybe wrong)
  • What bugs I have met.

My Goal

Having a vivid goal is important. I am not learning Python itself, I am learning to use Python to finish real tasks.

My goals:

  • Write a robust web crawler in Python
  • Analysis data and create sheets by Python

Finally:

How did you learn Python?

Top comments (0)