DEV Community

bythckr
bythckr

Posted on

Is Docker an overkill during development?

I am a newbie learning python. Earlier I used virtualenv and I screwed up managing it. Then I tried Docker and each project with its own seems fine, but my 16gb i5 X220's fan was not. Chrome, VS code & docker seems too much to handle for a laptop.

I think more power aka Xeon processor, will fix my issue(Newbie alert!). I have read about pros using VIM+ZSH+TMUX+SSH, I struggled to just figure my way out of Vim. I realized that I am taking on too much and vim+tmux seems an overkill for me. I am now focusing on python with vscode & bash. Now I read about vscode supporting SSH. So, I am starting reconsider the idea of a remote dev setup again.

I know a HP z400 that I can get for $100. So, I am considering the option. But then I read about the developement with Pipenv and heard of other options like pyenv & conda.

So, assuming that pipenv, pyenv & conda are far less resource intensive than docker. I am reconsidering the wisdom in using docker for development.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
cbrintnall profile image
Christian Brintnall

You should focus on learning Python. I used Python for four years before I even touched Docker. Docker is definitely useful during development, but if you're sticking to a single machine for now, maybe not so much.

I currently use it because my Python services depend on postgres / redis, and so I use docker-compose to do local development. Makes it much easier when your entire stack is running with one docker-compose up.

Collapse
 
georgecoldham profile image
George

Currently running Docker, Chrome (with more tabs that screen space), and VS Code on a base model macbook pro. No issues here.

I would be questioning the efficiency of the codebase, your hardware shouldnt be a limitation here.

Docker itself is relativly lightweight, I wouldnt use it for projects unless you are trying to learn about it. But equally it isnt horrific.

I have to ask, what are you working on? For anything web related then (newish) low powered laptops work just fine. Occasionally you may have to spin the fans up to build something, but thats well within reason. I wouldnt recommend throwing money at a problem without first fully understanding the problem at hand.