DEV Community

Carlos Castaneda
Carlos Castaneda

Posted on

TIL Blog Day 1

Today I worked on the 'Getting Started' module of the Tech Prep course.

I'm excited to start using the 'Ask' question forum. I'm sure that it will be an indispensable tool as we progress through Tech Prep and hopefully the fall program/bootcamp. I have used ChatGPT in the past whenever I ran into issues with writing JavaScript code and it has helped tremendously.

I was also able to complete the 'Hello, World!' module today.
It was great to learn how to use Github Codespaces and deploying a simple page to the internet. In the past I have used Github Pages and Netlify so it's good to learn about another service like Fly.io

I'm extremely grateful and excited to participate in Tech Prep. While I do have some experience with JavaScript, I am looking forward to adding Ruby and Ruby on Rails to my tool belt.

Lastly, one last comment to anyone reading this. Definitely take breaks from coding. It can be tempting to grind away for hours without a break but I have found the stepping away from the computer when you are stumped/tired is a great way to clear your mind. When you come back you will feel even better and can continue coding feeling refreshed. I try to stick to the Pomodoro technique(25 minutes of work, 5 minute break, repeat) and have had great success with it!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
heratyian profile image
Ian

I like pomodoro too 🍅