DEV Community

CarlosC
CarlosC

Posted on

My first basic API with ASP.NET

So yesterday was my first day building a web app with ASP.NET. I'm following the course for building an e-commerce app by Neil Cummings and jumping straight into an intermediate level. I figured it wouldn't be so hard to follow along since I already have some programming experience. But then again, this is about coming from JavaScript to C#.

Basic API

The day included only two factors:

  • Make an endpoint that returns a list of products or a specific product by id.
  • Setting up a database using SQLite.

Not much, right? However, I encountered many new concepts and elements that I had to understand before going forward. Some of them were ultimately the same concepts I was familiar with already, just with a different name.

Objective

The intention behind doing this web app is to get familiar with the ASP.NET framework and learn all of these new concepts on a practical level. I plan to spend extra time in the first stages and make sure that I understand these basic concepts well enough to get the most out of the course. For that, I have to use documentation and google whenever possible (typical developer).

The tools

NuGet package manager and the different libraries.
Entity Framework Core, which appears to be an important part of developing in ASP.NET.

Conclusion

I got to do my first API endpoint. I started touching lightly on the database and migration, but I'm leaving that for tomorrow.

too much

It's been overwhelming. It's a lot of new concepts for someone coming from a different language like JavaScript. Everything just feels so different. However, I'm very motivated to continue learning all these awesome tools. So, overwhelming but in a positive way.

Top comments (0)